What makes you special?

in #life6 years ago

We are all individual and somehow special. And yet, if we are surrounded with people who are part of a “majority” we tend to claim the word “normal” to describe us and people who don’t fit in this norm are described as “special” but often not in the positive way I meant it at the beginning.

Let me give one example of my own surroundings. In a world where most people think it’s normal that a man and a woman build a couple it is something special if to women or two men are together. I grew up having two mom’s because my mother happened to fall in love with another women when she was pregnant with me. Today I am 25 and they are still very happy with each other. Back then, when I was a baby, my parents had a divorce but stayed in a peaceful contact for the sake of me and my three older siblings. I was too young to remember this, but my father moved out and my second mother moved in. So I don’t know any better than to have to mothers growing up. Of course, I saw my father on a regular basis but me and my siblings stayed with our mother. When I was little I thought this was normal. I didn’t have any bad feelings about it and I loved my second mother like my biological one. And I still do. But other kids in kindergarten or later in school sometimes where pretty mean. They made me feel bad because of my “special” situation. And some of the parents didn’t let their kids visit me at home because of the circumstances. Back than I didn’t understand why they where acting like this. I think it’s great my two mothers met because being raised by them made me who I am today. And I am very proud of their courage to live and stay together no matter what other people thought about them.

Nowadays I think, some people fear things that don’t seem normal to them or “how it is supposed to be”. And many people judge others without even knowing them.

It makes me really sad and angry to meet such superficially thinking people. I think everybody should look at oneself, before judging others. Everyone of us is special in a way. And that makes as all different, individual. This is not a bad thing, but something that makes live enjoyable. How boring would it be with everyone just like one another? What would you talk about with your friends? You would have nothing to discuss with everyone having the same view on everything!

Don’t claim to be normal! Seek the differences and embrace them!

I truly believe, everyone of us has something special and individual to be proud of.

What makes you special.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @alyena! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alyena! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alyena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alyena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89