Why The Pain Of Regret Is Worse Than Rejection

in #life7 years ago

Sometimes I go to a nearby park where the college kids often walk through to get to their classes. As I scan around the pathway, I lock eyes on myself holding hands with the pretty girl from photoshop class. We've been together two years now and have explored different cities, had lots of fun, and even moved in together a few months ago. I spot them for a few minutes until they walk away from my line of sight

I'm not observing the past, future, nor present. I am only imagining an alternative universe where I took that chance and asked my crush out and against all odds, she said yes and now we are together. But instead, i'm only imagining what could have been. I should've been bolder, I could have walked up to her and asked her anything. What are you going to school for? Can I have your Snapchat? Do you want to go out on a date? Now the only question i'll ever be asking is what if?  That's a question that'll always be left unanswered.

May 12th is a special day for me because I am reminded, not because of the things I did do but for the things I didn't do. So tell me, what hurts more? The acute pain of reject, or the chronic pain of regret? If either loneliness or failure is inevitable no matter what path I choose, then should I choose the option that hurts the least?

The truth is, there's tons of opportunities to meet people; you just have to recognize these opportunities. See that girl in your college class who you've never talked to? What if you took the chance and talked to her and later find out you have a lot in common? Next thing you know you're hanging out, going on dates, and maybe she will be your girlfriend. 


My friend always told me good things come to people who wait. He is wrong, good things come to people who pursue, who know what they want and go get it. So what's stopping you from chasing your dreams?

Sort:  

A good conclusion :)

The fear of rejection is paraylizing. The only way to get over that fear is to experience the thing you fear most, over and over. You are correct. You need to make a decision to put yourself out there. Its like a muscle that needs to be exercised. The more you do it the stronger you get

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99