The Dark Side Calls Out To Me: A Teacher's Struggle

in #life7 years ago


Image source

I received an invitation by the great @lordvader to join the dark side. I was to be named Darth GuyVaderMetOnSteemit. It is a mouthful but it has a ring to it and it is almost as long as my full name, so, why not? I was lost though. Embracing the dark side... What could that be? Killing someone dear to me? Not really an option, I hear that's at a more advanced level. Besides, I adore my wife and a children, so let's start with something small.

My Journey to Sith-Hood

Upon my research into the old Sith scriptures (wookiepedia), I found out that I could achieve Sith-hood by being vilified by others and to hurt the people I love. So I thought, the other group of people that I would consider as people I love are my students. So perhaps causing them pain would make me a Sith Lord. So off I went to class. I had a plan, you see, I have a group of students who are frequently late to class. My newly discovered Sith knowledge has opened me up to new possibilities.

It is time for me strike back. When I entered my class, half my class was late, once again. I stood up and told my class and told them that it is not fair for them to be early while many are late so often. I said, it is time that we teach them a lesson. I told the ones who are early to act solemn and anxious. On the board I wrote that the assignment that is due in 2 weeks has been pushed forward to today. I told the class to act busy and stressed.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-11899-1380137668-22.gif
Image source

True enough, as those who were late started to trickle in, they started to panic and were trying to complete an assignment that required two weeks to finish quickly. After laboring for half an hour, I revealed that it was all a ruse and told them the lesson behind it. It felt good, I felt evil, I have finally taught these students a lesson. Oh wait, I think that was done for a good cause. I think I was doing good instead of evil... Sigh... Perhaps, I should try again.

My Second Evil Attempt

I was assigned a group of students for a swimming lesson. I was asked to demonstrate how to teach young children how to swim and one of my students has hydrophobia. As I kept patiently encouraging the student to place his head in the water to exhale. No luck, I was being observed, the parents were observing me and so were all my other students. A voice in my head told me that this was weakness. It told me to attempt to submerge the child's head into the water forcefully.

I told the child what I was going to do and he clung onto me and cried, yelling for me not to let him go. My heart melted. I shoved the inner darkness in me to the furthest reaches of my mind and hugged the child. I told him that we would try again and I continued patiently trying to encourage the child to swim.

After I have finished the lesson, I have realized that I have once again failed my master.


Image source

The Journey Continues

I shall continue with my journey to become Darth GuyVaderMetOnSteemit. As Darth Bane once said, conflict sharpens one's skills and makes the Sith stronger. I know through this conflict that I have within myself, I will continue to better myself. I know that I will learn and I will learn to become a better teacher, I mean... Sith.


I hope you've enjoyed the post. It is difficult being a teacher and like every human, we do get the occasional dark thoughts. However, what normally snaps me back to reality is my duty to my students to inspire and help them. There are times where I do troll them or play some pranks on them. As they are adults, they play pranks on me too. April fool is an exceptionally challenging time. I have to be wary of the pranks that do come.

All in all, I love them, but who knows, even great Jedis fall to the dark side too, remember Anakin?


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Good post, I see it on adsactly. Keep it on!

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you so much, appreciate the recognition and the upvote. Love the initiative you guys are doing as it encourages people to produce better content

I like it. I totally liked it.

Upvoted and resteemed

Thank you so much

Did he tell you the final test to sith-hood is to get your limbs chopped off and left to die next to a pool of lava?

The temptation is strong with this one.

It is.. I hope I can resist that sith lord's call..

That's him, I was hoping that my fate would be...better?

Better and much darker?

Ah brings back flashbacks to my swimming lessons. I remember how terrified I was. Gosh if you really went through with it that would have brought you quite close to sith in my own meter hehe.

The other way you could do it is to start the class with a pop quiz announced the previous time. That would certainly do the trick. Might be too cruel though haha.

I suppose you can be cruel to be kind? Being too kind and they take you for granted sometimes. It's a fine line that we thread.

Hello friend, your post is very good I hope to have you soon by my blog I have some new posts that may be of your liking. Greetings.

thanks for your information, I am very fond of and useful to me. Thank you very much

Sometimes in order to get better, you need to push the limit.
To become a better Sith, you need to know how far to push beyond the limit so as not to break your apprentice.
Yeah...you need a dark thought to push them out of their comfort zone....and hope they get better😁

That's right, but if you have their best interest in mind, that kinda makes it more of the force of light instead of darkness? I dunno.. The force is confusing...

Maybe the force is just a gift. It really up to you what you want to do with it...light darkness.

Even when evil tried to take control, you still brought out the goodness in you, the light in you by helping the child and disappointing the evil, the darkness. Great post friend

Thank you, its a very fine line to walk at times.. Not easy too..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74