Teacher, My Child Is Useless.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Image source

In my work, there have been many parents who will comment about how useless/bad/poor/incompetent/stupid/etc their child is. The list of negative description goes on, but if you dig deeper, the benchmark that parents subscribe to is the child's exam results.

This perhaps stems from an Asian culture of attributing a child's competence to exam results. I am sure many teachers have received questions similar to this. I am reminded of a string of events. Thus, allow me to write a letter to all those parents out there who are feeling so. Please don't take this the wrong way, I just want to offer my thoughts on this matter. These thoughts are the same response I give to any parent who made the comment above. Furthermore, I am also a parent of two. If one day the thought of my child being not good enough comes to mind, I hope this will serve as a reminder for me as well.

The Letter


Image source

Your child comes home and presents the latest exam report to you. Your heart sinks. Once again your child has managed to score poorly. The presence of good grades are rare and what is only presents are the dreaded Ds , Es and Fs. You wonder if you are doing something wrong.

Well, let me tell you a story.

Not long ago there was a boy. He was the first child in his family and being the only son, his family had high hopes for him. As the boy grew, he was given the best opportunities and placed in the most competitive school there was. However, time after time, this boy disappointed his parents. The boy dreaded learning and the more the parents pushed, the more he gave up.

The boy ended up falling behind in his studies, thinking that he was a failure. The parents however, continued to push him harder until one day, they gave up too. The boy, seeing the disappointment in their eyes decided that it was time to grow up and be serious. He started working hard, improving his results but ultimately obtaining a scholarship in university.

That boy is now a teacher and is now continuing his doctorate studies. That was a brief summary of my life. However, I write this not to talk about how great I am but to tell you that I have been there. Looking back, I attribute my rebellious streak to.. well.. Just being a kid. All kids go through that. Yes, it is frustrating. I know from trying to get a class of 50 teenagers or children to learn.

The Importance of Balance


Image source

However, we often forget that growing up is a matter of balance. Learning happens inside and outside of the classroom. In fact, it happens more outside of the classroom. Often, it is easier to associate textbook knowledge through experience. That’s why social activities and sports contribute to the child’s learning as well. I’ve been brought up in a time where playing outside is bad. Time spent studying is considered as time well spent.

This is not true, studying to learn may be important, but all learners learn best through experience. Thus, learning is all about balance (holistic learning) instead of just learning in the classroom.

Focus on The Skills Not Taught in Schools


Image source

The education system is far from perfect, as parents, we can help plug the gaps in our child’s learning, adding value to what they have been taught in school. Such skills may consist of presentation skills, problem solving skills, art related skills and financial literacy.

The gaps in education systems throughout the world varies but one thing is for sure, every school covers exam skills. Thus, perhaps that is one thing that should not be the focus.

All in all, I hope it encourages and helps in a way. Raising a child is not easy and much grace and patience is needed. However, switch the focus away from the exams and the textbooks. The world is changing too fast. Most education systems take an average of ten years to implement a new innovation. Thus, it is safe to say that it is already obsolete. However, the 5 important skills that are ever important in a child’s development are, creativity, communicative ability, critical thinking skills and collaborative skills.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Funny. I had two nights of parent teacher conferences this week. About 30 of 130 showed up. Most of my students' parents get angry with me about their Kids' grades because they think the should have As. I have to explain, over and over again, that their kids are reading at a 3-4th grade level in 7th grade. I find much less of the " my child is useless " argument and much more " but he is not missing any assignments so he should have an aA" argument.

My child is useless its a common dialouge to every parents or teacher. Lol. But everyone has a god gifted thing inside them and we have to let them enlight theirselves with this talent. Someone said "every child is gifted. They just unwrap their packages at different times" @alvinauh

Thta's right... some even develop slower than others. Everyone is ultimately different and we should always help the child see what they are good at instead of trying to box them into what the exam dictates

if a child got low marks in exam so encourage him/her don't depress him.

That's right

As a School Social Worker my wife always says, if she could fix the parents, she would be out of a job... -@bozz

Spoken like a bozz! That's true and if we can one day find a way to abolish exams that would be something!

I can't understand such statement. even though I face the same thing everyday. Someone would say their kid useless and so on. It hurts so much to hear those people.

That's right especially since the main support a child receives is not from the teachers but the parents. If only the parents know how much they have hurt their child's self esteem

Yap.. such chain should be broken, at least new generation of parent should know better, instead of just following the old "tradition"

I think the statement "my child is useless" is not only used in Asia but virtually everywhere. Every child has the potential of been the best but there are so many factors involved. Popular case is the Ben Carson story and his childhood.

Agreed, I've read about Ben Carson but the problem is society sees them as an exception to the norm. The norm most people feel is going through the exam and education system to succeed, but that's not always the case..

Some kids are academic and some are not, you are right @alvinauh - I believe that parents should try a lot of different activities outside the classroom to see what their strengths are - you never know, you might have a future Olympian on your hands :)

That's true, success can be attributed to so many other things.. If only there was a gauge for that instead of just letting the exam results determine it

Very True @alvinauh - Too much emphasis placed on exam results causing kids too much stress!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66