Steemit Helped Me Published My First E-book

in #life6 years ago

I have always wanted to publish an Ebook online. It wasn't until just a few moments ago that I have managed to publish it on Amazon and Smashwords. The feeling was awesome but it all started with an idea.

Image result for ebook writer

Image source

How It All Begin


It all started during one of those times. You know, the times when inspiration just comes and you suddenly get a brilliant idea. This was one of those times. I had a moment when I thought, won't it be cool if I could publish my work on from Steemit in an E-book.

So I went on and did some research (Google) and found this to be something that I was done by some Bloggers. Thus began my journey and converting my posts into an E-book.

I have been on Steemit for about a year and with hundreds of posts published, it just did not seem feasible to publish everything that I have written. Thus, I chose my first book to be about stories from my teaching experience.

The Process


Image result for journey

Image source


Thus, I went about compiling all the stories that I could find on my Steemit blog. Upon compiling them, I placed them all in a word document and started touching up on all my posts.

It was a fun process going down the Steemit memory lane. That's because I got to review all my previous posts and man did it bring back some great memories of my Steemit journey. I do want to thank @steemiteducation @sndbox & @teammalaysia for the inspiration to all those great posts.

I finished compiling and touching up the posts in no time but found the book to be lacking in value. Thus, I went about adding additional content to my post. Additional content that showcased some lessons that I have learned. Also, I added lessons that any reader could use throughout their teaching career.

After that, I started publishing the book onto Amazon Kindle. That's when I realized that I had to design my own book cover. Fortunately, I was able to create a cover with Canva. I do think that it looks rather nice with my rather limited knowledge in designing stuff.



My Book On Amazon & Smashwords

Looking Ahead...


I do hope that I will be able to sell some copies. Hopefully, I will be able to publish this on more platforms aside from Amazon and Smashwords. One of the biggest problems with these two platforms is that these two platforms are not as popular in my country.

I tried publishing it on Google Play and Apple IBooks and have hit a snag. Google Play is not accepting any new authors, unfortunately. Furthermore, I am unable to publish my book on Apple IBooks for one simple reason. I don't own a Mac. Yay...

Image result for facepalm

Image source


That being said, I hope this process will help in my journey ahead. Specifically, I hope that this will help me in publishing two other book titles that I have in mind. Of course, if you are a seasoned Ebook publisher, I do hope to hear your thoughts on how I can go about this. Now I do wonder if I can sell this for Steem. If you are interested in getting it for Steem, do let me know in the comments below.

Links to Ebook


Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HKQYGK9

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/896959




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://alvinauh.vornix.blog/2018/09/21/steemit-helped-me-published-my-first-e-book/

Sort:  

Congratulations! Publishing a book is a huge accomplishment! Wishing you the best of luck. :)

wow! congratulations! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on your first e-book, what a great idea to maximize your resources!

Congratulations! Don't worry too much about GooglePlay or anything, Amazon is good enough. What you need to worry right now is promoting your book on any possible media, Twitter, Instagram - just spread the word. Good luck!

Thank you! Would love to hear if you have any tips or experience doing this. At this point I am still in the midst of just promoting it to people i know.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16