Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover...


Killing Me Softly With Clutter


DSC_1191_steem.jpg


Today has been another full day of (very belated) spring cleaning and with my daughter's help, we sorted through hundreds (and I mean 100's) of old games, movies and music cd's. There were even old 3.5" floppies that obviously contained lots of very important household information, I mean, it must have been important if I saved it to disk, right? lol

By far, the most unexpected 'hidden treasure' that I've stumbled upon so far, was found in a pile of dusty organ music books. They'd been given to me at a time when I was thinking about learning keyboards and as you can see from the photo, these books are very easy to follow for a beginner, although I never did find time to learn keyboards and opted for guitar instead.

The music books were destined for the donation pile but I hesitated and decided to flick through them first. In the second or third book, I found music for the song 'Killing Me Softly With His Song' which has always been a favourite.

Now, I'm only a self-taught beginner when it comes to playing the guitar but I surprised even myself with my ability to strum out the chords and in a recognisable tune.

Ok, maybe I should keep them...?!?

Anyhoo, further investigation showed that most of the songs were oldies that I'm not familiar with so ditching them was still weighing up as the better option...

But then I found the PEARL..!


DSC_1192_steem.jpg

DSC_1194_steem.jpg


The guitar chords that you needed to play the songs were, in fact, listed (with diagrams) at the back of each book.

So, much to my daughter's horror... the books are staying for now..!

At least until I have look through them - because you never know, I might find more songs that are worth keeping (and learning).

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

What a treasure 😉 we always have reason to keep something and you found it trye now 😉 so.. where's the record of you playing the song with guitar?

This is true @cicisaja, in the clean-up, I've thrown many other items away so I think this is a good swap for everything else. Perhaps in the future, I will have the courage to sing or play something for my blog but for now, I need more practice, I'm still getting used to hearing my own voice (try to) sing along :)

You found a treasure and got to keep it...cool @alphaccino.art

Yes they are, thank you @ajorundon, I'm so glad I had a look at them before they were gone.

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52