To duck face or not to duck face...

in #life7 years ago

Lamentably we live in a world where the "selfie" seems to be the norm. I can recall a time when selfies didn't really exist. Sure people took photo's of themselves, but it was generally done when one was on holiday rather than for no reason at all. One of the features of a selfie, other than it being done to garner interest, comment or attention from others due to low self-esteem, is the duck face. That horrid parody of the pout that [mainly women] seem to think is attractive. Below are a couple examples of the duck face, both modelled by the same young lady. (I think she's young).

I draw your attention to the image below. Here the lady in the top image is demonstrating your typical garden-variety duck face pout. You can see the pursed lips and vapid look portrayed perfectly here. Not very attractive is it and certainly made worse by the heavy makeup and orange spray-tan this lady has applied.

The young lady below the orange duck-lady however is demonstrating a rarely seen visage these days; Certainly not seen in selfies very often. This is called a smile and used to be considered the most appropriate facial expression to use in a photograph. It looks quite pleasing doesn't it?

8yviwN3.jpg

This second image depicts the same orange duck-lady once again mainly because I couldn't bring myself to google any more images of duck-faces and the fact that she demonstrates the hideousness of the pout so expertly. Again, she is over-posing with the thought in mind that she looks attractive I suppose.

Below orange duck-lady (ODL for short) is another demonstration of the pout. This one is more subtle and doesn't make the lady look like she is trying to suck a golf ball through 40 feet of garden hose like ODL. I think it's quite pleasing and is a pout I may choose to employ myself actually.

VedXrrX.jpg

I'm not sure when the term selfie came into existence or when the duck-face pout was made popular. I assume some vapid celebrity started doing it and then it caught on with everyone else for some reason. Probably because most people are sheep and have no valid thought, opinion or style of their own. I'm of the opinion of live and let live however so as long as the duck-face pout doesn't get in my way I'll just roll with it.

Oh, just a thought...If a photograph taken by oneself is called a selfie does that mean a photo taken by someone else is a somebody-elsie?

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

It's a himsie or a hersie.
Unless they shun normative gender constructs; then its a themsie.

I never thought of it that way so thanks for enlightening me @mattclarke.

I think I know how orange faced pouting got started

Nailed it! :)

Much needed social commentary. It’s frightening when one realizes that a whole generation is being raised on these devises and the ubiquitous narcissism they engender. They know nothing else, unless someone tells them. I resteemed this.

Thank you @dissfordents. Whilst I am out there just living my own life a part of me observes this crazy world and thinks dafuq is going on! Thanks for the resteem.

Congratulations @allover! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57