Devastating fires in Greece - surprising testimonies of survivors

in #life6 years ago

It seems unbelievable the apocalypse in Greece. These are the worst fires that have swept the country over the past ten years.

The most affected area is Mati resort, situated at 40 km from Athens (the whole resort was turned into ash).

Authorities suspect that the fires would have been caused by 15 arsonists in different places, in forests around Athens. The balance of tragedy has grown to 81 deaths today and over 200 injured people.

Greek prosecutors have announced that this tragedy would have been provoked for the political and economic destabilization of the country.

Many countries have helped Greece with special firefighting aircraft.

Romania sent to Greece two military aircraft, one specialized in firefighting and another for transport.

Romania was among the first states that intervened alongside countries such as Spain, Italy, Bulgaria, and the number of countries that will help Greece will increase from one hour to another.

The Hellenic Union of Romania has sent a letter to the Greek Foreign Ministry announcing that it will send three doctors, a team of volunteers and medicines, milk and drinking water to help those affected by the fires in recent days.

The true dimension of this tragedy is replicated by those who have lived and who have managed to save themselves.

Testimonies of survivors

"The fire was moving at the speed of lightning, and we ran to the sea, feeling the heat in the back as if the flames hunted us".

"I have seen people drowning next to me without being able to help them. That was the tragedy."

"The fire suddenly appeared. The wind was blowing with a tremendous force. I have never seen this in my entire life. I ran into the sea. I tried to get away from the smoke. I advanced in the water as far as I could. But the wind and the currents were so strong that the waves dragged us dipped into the sea. I did not even know in what direction was Mati. Nothing could be seen."

Those who have lost their family and friends will never forget these sad events in their lives.

Any help is very appreciated, so if you want to donate whatever you can (Steem or SBD are welcome), please check @tkappa's post where you can find more information.

Sources: 1; 2; 3

Sort:  

Thanks for the love and support to my country and post @allesia. You are a very beautiful woman inside and out :)))))

I always support the people I care. You can always rely on me, you'll always have my support. So, anytime you will need me I will be by your side. :*

Thank you so much dear :)))
Your support is really touching 😚

Daca zilele trecute Grecia era devastată de flăcări, acum au venit și inundațiile. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94