You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I’m not on board with Fat Acceptance and Here’s Why

in #life8 years ago

YES! I absolutely agree. I am an overweight woman in my late twenties, but I have health issues that cause weight gain. I've also struggled with food addiction in the past. I don't post pictures of myself in bikinis or scantily clad clothing, but I'm on the path to self acceptance because I exercise and do everything I can to try and be healthy. It's a work in progress! I think it's great that people are so secure in themselves, and it often makes me feel good when I see another curvy woman who is secure in herself. If she's beautiful and self confident, maybe I can be too! But I also think that fat acceptance has gone too far. There is a point where it's not healthy anymore, and we are teaching people that it's okay. I think we need to change the mindset from "fat acceptance" to "healthy acceptance". Being secure because you know you're working to be healthy, whether that means you weigh 100 or 300 lbs. Everybody's version of health is different. Let's support women because they are trying to make themselves the best they can possibly be, not just because they wore a bikini. Excellent post!

PS: "Magical fat unicorn" is the best phrase ever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42