NerdDad Journal: 2nd Grade Math

in #life5 years ago

So, helping out with my sons math. I about lost my patience, and then they threw a curveball at me. They gave us a problem that my son had to tell me that we should just do it how we have been doing the other problems.

image

66 small fish in a pond. A big fish comes in, and 37 small fish swam away, how many small fish are left.

Well, the 37 smart ones that swam away, but that’s not one of the options.

Or, I ask you, how many of the ones that stuck around we’re not eaten? The issue is, these fish are still on the pond, they didn’t go anywhere. It’s not like when fish swim away, that they hop into a different pond. I have so many issues with poorly written story problems. This teaches kids not to look into details, the same attention to details that we see as a skill when they get older.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aliendev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aliendev! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey, noticed you havent posted in a while and wondered how things were going. Is there anything we can help you with?
Ren

Thank you for noticing. Yes, I will be back very soon. I've just been overwelmed with work is all. I'm working on some new content now, and a new project that should start to make some waves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97