Todays little nugget of my lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

When I came over to steemit the idea was to post my short stories and other writing here, the problem I discovered is I'm a really slow writer. Still 4 of my published short stories are now up and other little bits but I've spread my wings so to speak on what I post about.

 photo tony5 027_zpskambc1d9.jpg
(my own picture.)

As well as my writing I've posted litttle bits about my own life. The picture above I took a fair few years ago using my Dad's camera. I'd clubbed together with my brothers for him to go to a bird of pray centre and fly some of the birds as a birthday present.

Anyway since joining in September I've posted about mental health and being a carer for someone suffering with a long term mental health illness, posted about my garden, cooking and whatever came to mind. Basically it's just little snapshots of my life that I hope the people around the world on steemit would find interesting. Hopefully this worked but as I'm now approaching a rep. of 64 and built up my steempower to almost 5000 (everything so far has been invested back into steemit.) I think I'm doing something right.

So todays little nugget of my life...

Let's do food and cooking.

I like to play in the kitchen, I cook most of the dinners and try to get fresh in there as much as possible. (not always easy with fussy kids.) I've basically learnt by trial and error and while I'll read a recipe I'll often deviate from it. Now cooking I enjoy doing but when it comes to food I can take it or leave it.

I don't love food and in my teens I had anorexia and I've spent most of my adult life keeping in touch with it. I didn't stop eating because I though I was fat or anything to do with body image, I stopped eating because I didn't really like food. It's not that food doesn't taste nice for me because it does, I just didn't like eating. Even now I can go all day without eating and not feel hungry. Back in my teens it all came to a head when I walked down stairs and was almost sick at the smell of frying bacon. I mean how bad is it that one of the greatest smells in cooking made me want to be sick?

I don't remember when my eating became a problem, it just got so I ate less over time. I'd got to the point that while I was at art college (I was about 17 at the time.) a bag of crisps would last me all day, and that was all I ate, a bag of cheese and onion crisps. I didn't try to hide what I was eating, I just didn't think about it or know there was such things as eating disorders. At weekends I'd struggle through meal times and that food intake probably stopped me from getting really ill.

Once my mum put 2 and 2 together there was tablets for appitite and those milkshake drinks for body builders after every dinner. Mum was a no nonsense sort of woman and just cut out doctors and all that and went for getting some food down me and getting me my appitite back.

I suppose I was lucky in my anorexia wasn't down to any psychological reason, just a can't be bothered to eat reason. It is strange to me though that while eating is something I have to work at I love to cook, especially for other people. Sunday dinners and Christmas day dinner is my domain and nobody enters the kitchen unless I let them, usually when it comes to putting things on plates.

Well thanks for reading and you know a little more about who Alienbutt is and my life.
And just to end on a happy note, this is my daughter when she was little showing a different type of problem with eating.
How do you get this spoon in my mouth?

 photo various kids 002 2_zpsiw5pgm7f.jpg

Sort:  

What a catch! I have videos of my kids with first foods - great fun!! Upvoted and followed.

Great post mate and great ending

Thanks, had to end it with a laugh :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57