DecembersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

I woke up this morning just not feeling it, the day is dull and gloomy although at that time it was still too dark to tell.

In short I've got a sad on.

I don't much like December anymore, it's the begining of the end, the prelude to the long night. You look around and the nature you see is drab and dead looking. You look back over the year and to me it's been wasted, we still arn't moving to make the world a better place for our children. You look forward on what is left of the year and the madness of a festival of consumerism.

I did warn you I've got a sad on.

No other month in the year screams of how money and items have taken over our lives and how as a society we hord it like a dragon in it's cave full of stolen gold. All down history in the northern hemisphere December has been a month that held a festival, the winter solstice, the longest night. No suprise really that the early Christians chose this time to have their Christ's Mass. (No dig at christians there, just a historical fact.)

The winter solstice is an ending but also a promise of a new begining, the days will get longer, nature will return as the plants return to life. It is the promise of a new year and the return of summer, a new begining where we can make changes to improve everyones lives...

And then next December we will look back over yet another year and a wasted opportunity as our society stays in the endless cycle of being the dragon, sleeping in it's cave full of stolen gold.

Sort:  

Don't keep that sad on.

I love December... it's January, when the Christmas decorations are taken down and packed away that leaves me sad.
Over one night, January 5th - Twelfth Night - all the lights go out and Christmas is done.

Yet once they are down your rooms look bigger as the clutter is taken away ;)

I mean outside, the houses that were so bright and cheerful look drab and miserable after the lights go out :(

True, the outside lights do brighten the dark evenings

The most saddest time/day for me is the 5th January. It usually lasts 2 weeks. I think, OMG, I hope this year isnt going to be wasted like the last. I don't think anything will ever be any different, I will repeat the year as same as the last one (this is what I have thought over the past 2 years +) BUT boy am i proven wrong. The beginning of this year, i was so depressed and now I'm like WOW what a year of ups and downs :-))))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44