You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mansplaining: Thoughts on it from a man.

in #life8 years ago

"Now it feels as if it's a method to demonise men in order to achieve gains for women."

It doesn't feel as if it's a method to demonise men. It HAS become a method to demonise men and only seek the welfare of women and women only.

Sort:  

I agree with you there. There's a lot I come across today that just makes me feel bad, and being a self-proclaimed progressive man it should make me feel like I want to do more.

I can understand those feelings. I am more of a conservative on the political spectrum, and wouldn't quite identify as a progressive, so our experience, I think, could be different. Regardless, I do feel a duty to my fellow humans, to be respectful, honorable, and caring. However, if you start believing all of this "microagression" baloney, you will either implode on yourself with shame, or feel like you should become "callous" and discount this perspective. There is no way you can implement someone's recommendations for your behaviour when they basically condemn everything you are and do - apart from dying. Which, let's face it, some radical feminists have advocated.

My biggest frustration with the movement is the abhorrent anti-intellectuality of modern feminism. You cannot disagree with a woman without being potentially accused of misogyny, but women can use terms like "mansplaining" willy nilly and never be taken to task over it. Feminists will go on for hours about how they are "silenced" by the "patriarchy", but you can't have a moderately intelligent conversation challenging their opinions without being told to be quiet, because you're a man and can't possibly understand anything about anything. The overt sexism, racism, and heterophobia of feminists towards white, straight men can only lead me to conclude that they are either too self-righteous to admit they have faults, or that they are too lazy intellectually to assess the weaknesses and hypocrisy of their own position.

Bam. Right there!

Well articulated. In a far better way than I could ever have done. And you're right, I get absolutely furious when I come across facebook pages with their sole purpose to shame men with their dating techniques. Granted, some of the examples are far out there, and those sites are generated for entertainment value. But these people tend to forget that a high proportion of men are good, decent, well-meaning men. It's a balance, in every variety there's always going to be an extreme fringe element.

And if I were to start a Facebook page on the shitty things women do? Because I've met some shitty women in my life that have done really shitty things, I'd be a sexist bastard right off.

However I understand that basing my reality on the fringe element is psychotically stupid and doesn't represent the masses :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44