You are not this body, You are not even this mind. So who are you?

in #life6 years ago

This is one of my favourite sentences to meditate and ponder on.

The more you think about it, the deeper the realisations go.
What do I know- (1).png

The first time I heard this was in a meditation with the great mystic Sadhguru when he came to London to do a talk.
I've been practicing this for a while now and came across many interesting insights, to avoid saying conclusions. The moment you think you know something thats when your mind shuts down the possibility of you being wrong and hence learning something new.

What do I know-.png

So I think we can agree that it is wonderful to not know. WOW, isn't that a relief already? If instead of always comparing yourself to how much you know, how much your neighbour knows, how much your coworker knows and start comparing yourself to how little anybody knows, suddenly the 'pressure' is gone and it seems insignificant.
But what do we actually know for fact? Only what each and everyone of us experience for ourselves right? I cannot know what you know unless i experienced it myself, and even then I cannot know for sure that we had the same experience...

We can only go as far as experience and live our own life. So what I'm sharing here is what I experience and I'm open to being proven 'wrong'. But where does this body come from? Is it me? I don't believe so. How did it grow? Wasn't it much smaller just couple of years ago? Wasn't it different when i started writing this article? In a nutshell to me the body is the accumulation of foods put inside of it, the food we eat, we grow hence it's an accumulation of earth over a period of time. It is in constant exchange with the air we breath and as we finally proved scientifically it's a lot of empty space. So I am not this body, identifying with it ends up in entanglement and suffering.

What do I know- (2).png

To the second part, I am not even this mind... Hmmm but who's the voice up there controlling and dictating every step I do.. Who is reminding me to avoid touching fire? Who is reminding me that intimacy and commitment ends up in suffering? Who keeps reminding me that I don't like to eat liquorice and I do like to eat bananas? The mind is the accumulation of memories gathered over the past and projecting them into the future. It wants to keep me safe in my comfort zone where it can predict the outcomes of my experiences based on what I've been through in the past. What an amazing tool to have isn't it! Just don't forget that your in charge of IT and not the other way around otherwise life becomes a repetitive circle of dull experiences. Make sure to feed it new experiences on a regular basis, it might tell you not to do so since the outcome is unpredictable but that is essentially how you expand and discover the beauty of life. Simple example is this, how do you know you like pizza? You had to try it right! And that was easy, you saw everyone else eating it with a big smile on their faces so why the heck not give it a shot and before you know it your loving it. Well the same goes for taking risks in life, except that the people around us that haven't gone through them think they know and tell us how dangerous and painful it can be. Go and experience it for yourself.

What do I know- (3).png

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it - Andy Warhol

Did you notice how the flowers bloomed today... JUST FOR YOU
Did you notice how the sun rose today.... JUST FOR YOU
Did you notice how your heart was pumping today.... JUST FOR YOU

Be grateful to be alive every second of the day, for all you know your not going to wake up tomorrow.

Sort:  

Congratulations @alexandrefx! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing post, great insight and a lot of value that I am taking from this. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this very interesting and I think very important topic. I will definitely try out the meditation with Sadhguru, sounds really interesting. I also think that there is a lot to learn for us about our body, mind, and spirit and there is so much too life that is worth exploring and experiencing. thanks

Thank you for taking the time to go through it and i hope you'll find the meditations as useful as i do.

thought id include the audio i listen to when sitting, walking, breathing

program your mind

Congratulations @alexandrefx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52