The time I did the Ice Bucket Challenge for my dad (and when many people were treating it as a trend)

in #life8 years ago

Two years ago, the Ice Bucket Challenge emerged and took the internet by storm, an icey one.

It blew up pretty good. 

People were talking about it, doing it, sharing it and celebrities were taking part in it.

Then people started saying how it was just a trend and that most were just doing it for fun, to look cool, for YouTube views or whatever.

Meh.

I say, to each his own, yeah?

Whatever the case, everyone who did it contributed to raising awareness on ALS ( Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis), or Lou Gehrig's disease.

And that's cool.

I did the challenge myself, and it was a very personal thing for me as my dad had it and eventually died from it when I was only 20, which was slightly over ten years ago.

The disease hit him pretty hard, turning him from a strong, cheerful man into a weak person who just lost any will to live. He fought the good fight. That he did.

ALS is a very 'intimate' enemy to me, if you will.

Time and time again, I'd randomly google "ALS cure" or "ALS stories" just to you know, be reminded of things and how real life really, really is for all its good and bad.

So I did the challenge, to contribute. Here it is again, after two years:

The other reason why I did the challenge was to educate people on the nature of ALS. Indeed, I too felt that, on some level people were just doing the challenge for fun.

Here's the gist of what you need to know about ALS, from the perspective of somebody who lost someone to it:

  • ALS has no known cause or cure. Whoever gets it is literally handed a death sentence.
  • ALS slowly destroys the body's ability to function entirely while your mind is intact. Basically, whoever has it slowly watches his body die and he can't do a thing about it.
  • ALS is one of the worst diseases ever, but it's not as common as cancer.

That was pretty much what I talked about in the video. 

ALS is out there. I just wanted people to know about it. 

Sort:  

There will always be people who are negative about everything. well done you for doing this and having empathy for other people

Great video @aldentan ...it got pretty serious to a point and Im sorry for what happened to your dad, but with all that being said, I liked the video!

Thanks! Yep. Just something I knew I had to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44