Oh please... stop with the Humble Bragging

in #life8 years ago

I was recently telling a friend this, "If you want to spot who is full of shit on the internet, just see that perosn is humble bragging or not."

I fucking hate humble braggers.

It's so lame and annoying!

Definition of humble brag-

"An ostensibly modest or self-deprecating statement whose actual purpose is to draw attention to something of which one is proud."

Then it starts...

"This isn't about the money! Making $100,000 a year really doesn't appeal to me anymore. This is why I spend up to 20 hours a week doing volunteer work :)"

"Hey guys! Check out my new blog article on the lessons I've learnt from travelling to over ONE HUNDRED countries. Everybody SHOULD travel!"

"Oh I don't normally do this on social media, but just today when I got out of the house I helped an old lady cross the road. Here are some pictures I took."

"Haha! Someone just told me I look Brad Pitt! Crazy!"

"Somebody just asked if they could touch my abs. Awkwaaaaaaaaaaaaaard."

It goes on and on.

Stop it! Please, for the love of humanity. Cut it out!

The rest of us can see through your bullshit.

If you want to brag, then brag with a message that can genuinely help others.

If you want to show off, show off with something that isn't stupid.

If you want to talk about yourself... no... just no. Stop. No more. Okay?

Peace,

Alden

Focus on your own shit and be happy! But don't be so damn showy about it. You don't need that shit to be happy. Get my free book here: 12 Things Happy People Don't Give a Fuck About!

Sort:  

This article reminds me of the time I caught HUGE air on my Honda CRF 450. That is no beginners bike, let me tell you.

Nice article. I think I catch your drift. Like this one time I almost lost control on the highway. I swear I spun around THREE times! Handled it like a pro, ended up facing the right way like nothing happened. This one guy congratulated me later while stopped a red light...

Shit dude you should be on Fast And Furious 10

You know, I thought about it but I was like "no way man, don't be a sellout."

Haha I'm just messing around. I will say though. Sometimes people do great things and no matter how they tell that story, someone will always think they are full of shit, bragging, being over confident. If people have a reason to be proud, I say, be proud.

Kind of like that time they offered me a role for a movie and I was like, "Nah. Let Dicaprio have a shot at the Oscar."

Haha. Yeah for real man. The internet just makes it easy to humble brag too much.

Like fishing for compliments using a huge net and sonar.

I am extremely intelligent

LOL. OKAY FINE.

I'm not sure I 100% agree with you here... I do know what you mean, but I think a certain amount of bragging is not only acceptable, but it's also necessary.

If you're proud of your achievements you should shout about them - after all, if you don't, who will?

Surely that's the whole point of this social media? It's a 'look at me!' kind of thing and that's not a bad thing.

I've written some books, made some films and I have a bit of life experience, but if I didn't tell you about that and you needed some advice on one of the subjects I can advise on, you'd never know that you could ask me...

I agree with you on that, though I see what he means about "humble bragging" being annoying.
Good writers don't ask for permission to express their opinions or to boast. They brag in such a way that makes the reader love to hear the story. I've never heard of a good writer with a humble opinion.

Yeah that's what I meant. Wanna brag just brag. Don't humble brag.

I see your point!

Yes, I was asked by a Director friend of mine if I would like to Produce one of his films. He asked me to do a few more after that, so I guess I did a good job :)

Btw you made films? I'd love to hear more!

He doesn't have a problem with people bragging-he has a problem with people pretending that they aren't bragging-it's totally lame and transparent and anyone who is remotely intelligent immediately thinks, "what a douche"; so they aren't doing themselves any favours anyway, except in the eyes of stupid people.

Yes, I understand that now...
Thank you :)

Lol I love how sharp your words are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67