I am a fraud and that's why I am exposing myself to you here

in #life7 years ago

I am a fraud, somewhat.

I write about self-help and personal development, but I have a shit ton of issues myself.

I suffer from problems everyday.

And that's why I am here to tell you that I am human.

I was told before by some marketers to change what I wrote about myself on my blog. I was told to "make it seem like I am very inspiring and am capable of helping."

I am not kidding. I was told to change myself and stop being honest.

I thought that was a big fat crock of bullshit.

That's why I hate self-help. Most of the self-helpers out there are liars and full of crap.

I don't agree with that, even for the sake of doing business and making money.

So here I am, with nothing but flawed honesty.

I'd rather you accept me for who I am and be able to relate to me then see me as some pretentious douche who keeps speaking out of his ass.

I have good days and bad days, and I am sure you do too.

The difference is yeah, I have a blog, I am a writer and I just thought I would share my stories. 

I hope it helps. If it doesn't, I hope on a good day it might for you.

Hope this honest letter helps today.

If you want to help support my journey so I can be myself and not resort to lies and pretentious garbage, support me here on Patreon! 

Sort:  

i will support you on patreon, i want to help out a fellow steemian!

Aww shit thanks! You rock!

In the book Chicken Soup for the Soul there's a story about a guy who goes out to eat with a bunch of monks. He met them at a seminar they were teaching about life skills. Hoping to learn more from them he eagerly went out to eat with him. As he ordered food he carefully chose Foods that he felt was spiritually correct. To his dismay the monks ordered steak and other dishes that were contrary to what he thought they would order. When he asked them the monks responded with a phrase saying "not Buddha yet". If you haven't read that book it's very good and that story is always a reminder to me that we strive for perfection, but it's an unattainable goal so we might as well be kind to ourselves . Nice post.

That's the key: Be kind to ourselves!

Being honest a big step forward! Admitting our shortcoming and improve it is easier said than done. Your post is definitely inspiring, be confident!

Thanks for the support. I appreciate it!
100% here ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58