Family First: The First Time In My Life Where I Rejected A Red Packet

in #life7 years ago

me and my fam visiting my father

It's a yearly affair. We'd visit the columbarium where my father's ashes are stored on the first day of Chinese New Year.

That's me, my mom, brother and my sister-in-law.

Then we proceed to visit some family houses where we'd greet our seniors, exchange oranges, chill, eat and gamble, mostly Blackjack.


This yearly festive season was honestly a lot more fun when we were kids.

I'd always look forward to being able to play with my cousins.

I'd look forward to getting red packets, or Ang Baos (that contain money.)

I'd look forward to playing with sparklers and shit.

But now that we've all grown up, it's just a way for us family to get together. 

It's tiring as hell though. I don't even want to style my hair when I pay my visits now because it feels so heavy.


Nonetheless though, it's all about family. Always will be.

This little tyke right here is my niece, Odelia.

She's super cute and fiesty. She is... strong.

Anyway her dad, my cousin whom I am close to just got a divorce. He offered to give me a red packet, but I refused it because I knew he was going broke from lawyer bills, court fees and shit.

It don't matter!

It was just a small token which I appreciated.


Money is everywhere. That means to say, it goes up, and then down, anytime, anywhere, whether you like it or not.

You might as well exert some control over it even though it sounds counter intuitive or even crazy.

But fam comes first.

Always.

Appreciate the better things in life around you.


Sort:  

Hey Brother~
One thing I can say for sure is family is more important that styling ones hair. That is why I provide my family with the dream life, even if I have to sacrifice my "hair"

Enjoy the good life, prioritize, be healthy and live the dream~

Bless~*~

Haha for sure man. I brought up the styling of hair cause like I remember when I was young, the hair was just so important when it comes to looking good.

Now I am just chilling and happy being around my fam.

Tomorrow is day 2 and I am just gonna head out in flip flops lol.

Good on ya!

Beautiful family.
You will live long and see your children children.
Lovely family.
Nice pics

She got that lil BOSS look bro! Enjoy this doggy dog year my man, blessings 👊

She IS the boss. She beats me and shit lol

Hello! I just moved to Yueyang, Hunan. I'd been living in Guangzhou for 4 years before that but me and my girlfriend (she's from Yueyang) want to get married so we moved here. Where's your hometown? Do you live in China or living abroad? I hope Steemit can grow more in China, that would be cool. Happy new year man!

I am from Singapore yooooooo .Welcome to Steemit!

Oh sorry! I just assumed you were from China! Do you celebrate Chinese New Year in Singapore?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67