Accept what you feel, don't resist

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So one of the things I learnt in my pscyhotherapy sessions is accept what you feel and not resist it.

What does that mean?

It means when you feel upset, angry, sad or anything fucked up, you just accept it.

No, that's not to say you're in denial or anything like that.

You just say in your head, "I accept this feeling I have now."

Or you even say, "Hello" to it, as what she taught me. My therapist is pretty cute btw lol.

Anyway, this is WAY better than simply resisting it.

This is when you say shit like "Oh I shouldn't be feeling this way."

Or "This is wrong."

Or "Others say it's wrong!"

Or "The inspirational blog I read the other time said I should not think or feel this way."

The problem with all of that is that it only attempts to sweep the problem or your negative feelings under the rug.

You may feel good for a second, but if you simply don't understand what's going on deep down inside you, the problem WILL come back.

That's why for me, I stopped with reading blogs or listening to meditation music and stuff. I knew deep down I needed professional advice based on actual science.

So this is what I learnt. I hope it helps.

Just accept it, and try to chill. 

You will get there.

Hope this helps today.

If you liked this piece of advice, do pledge to me here and support me so I can continue writing comfortably.

www.Alden-Tan.com

Follow me here on Steemit! @aldentan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74