Frivolous and non-offensive

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today, being the day it is, I had a playful idea.
I decided that I would end every work email with the text,

love,
Andrew

--
Yes, we can get you a new monitor
love,
Andrew

--
Have you tried turning it off and on again?
love,
Andrew

--
Yet, immediately after this plan was cunningly conceived I've given it up.

The edict of our times has pronounced it dead: "Do no offense to anyone!"
While light of heart, and tongue in cheek, it might upset someone and we can't have that!

You can ride my Turtle anytime piccsy.com

Love
Andrew

Sort:  

It's political correctness gone mad!

Well, maybe not. But someone was going to say it, so I figured I'd get in first and ruin their fun.

😂 Yeah. It's not like it was back it the Olde days ey!
In my day we were just a bunch of discriminating pricks (well, maybe not).

Conversations in the old days at the library could be a little colourful at times, but never in front of the students/clients.

could you explain the "offensive" part in that phrase?

how can anyone e offended when you share "love"?

I really try to bend my head around it, trying to see a point where I might understand why anyone on this whole planet, would be offended by that.

Awkward maybe...but that would be the only "negative" thing i could come up with.

please relief me from this braincracking ;)

Ha! Yes indeed, I'm hearing you. The thing is, it might make someone feel 'uncomfortable' (a small step from awkward), and another person might decide that its inappropriate!
At this point, even though the comment is merely playful it is a small step to go from 'inappropriate' to taking offence.
Once someone takes offence the substance of the original intent no longer matters, the damage is done, and we just can't abide by this this now can we?

I hope this helps and, no offence, I didn't mean to be unclear ;)

Congratulations @akvandy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59