Have you deactivated your Facebook yet?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It was a Friday evening at work, was waiting for the clock to strike 6:30 PM, had 2 hours to go and after a successful product release, I found myself with ample free time in office. I also found myself mindlessly scrolling across the facebook feed. 

For the first time I became aware that I did not even register what was scrolling across the screen as If I was waiting for something interesting to pop up, that something never came. That evening I decided to delete the app from my phone and every time I log on using a desktop I remind myself how stupid it was. 

**Awareness** is the key to Freedom, I became aware of how much time I was wasting, now I spend my free time reading books instead.

Anyways I thought of writing this after reading two articles about Instagram being the worst network for your mental health, Sources are below.

Why Instagram Is the Worst Social Media for Mental Health

Instagram most likely to cause young people to feel depressed and lonely out of major social apps, study says

Sort:  

It's not the problem of Facebook or ig but people themselves. Yes you are right, we spend less time on books as we are now used to read short and simple article on Facebook making us feel tired too read a long books. I don't know if the decision of deleting Facebook is correct. I need Facebook for my work but now I am also controling myself not the read Facebook for nothing. But now I spend most time on steemit haha

SteemIt is different, built around meeting people through good content.

Your time is well spent and will go a long way :)

Congratulations @ajfsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69