A delicious meal at The Copper Onion in Salt Lake City, Utah

in #life6 years ago

We'll start with the good stuff, check out what I had tonight!

That is Wagyu Beef Stroganoff (snake river farms beef, house pappardelle, mushroom, crème fraìche, chive) and Brussels Sprouts (garlic, lemon, olive oil) from The Copper Onion.

If you saw my Zap earlier you would know that I'm in Salt Lake City and I was looking for restaurant recommendations. I ended up falling back on google to search for and locate something. I settled on this restaurant based on their high review rating and interesting menu options.

If you would like to check out the rest of their menus you can see them here. They source all their food locally!

The menu is somewhat fancy and a little pricey, but the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed. There's even a bar section that puts you face to face with the chefs. I'm going to try and go back for another meal this week due to how many delicious menu items I saw prepared.

Being new to the restaurant and equipped with an empty belly from a long day of travelling I asked my waiter, Ben, what he recommended. He recommend the stroganoff as it was one of their top sellers and also suggested a side of brussels sprouts. There was a moment of hesitation on the brussels sprouts as I have never enjoyed them from other restaurants. He reassured me that he felt the same way in the past, but that the ones they made in the restaurant were just that good. As you can see from the photo below, both the stroganoff and brussels sprouts were so good that I cleaned my plates.

If your not familiar with Wagyu Beef, it is meat from one of four Japanese breeds of cattle. What makes it special and highly sought after is how well the meat is marbled. For more information check out the Wikipedia page.

The Wagyu Beef was juicy and tender I can't even put it into words. The best I can do is say that it tasted like a little slice of heaven. The rest of the dish was as well. The mushrooms had soaked up the sauce and beef juice and could almost complete in flavor the beef itself. The ingredients for the brussels sprouts are relatively simple, but just like with my BBQ post simple ingredients can makes something taste amazing. One of the main things that I enjoyed about them is they were cooked, but still had some crunch to them. They were also chopped and shredded which helped with the texture. In the past the brussels sprouts i've had have been whole and soggy, not a pleasant texture for me.

While wrapping up my meal I saw a few desserts go by and new I had to try one. I ended up choosing the Bread Pudding (proper brewing co. porter caramel, apples, rosemary ice cream) based on Ben's recommendation.

I wish I would have had my camera ready when they brought it out. It was a mountain of hot bubbling goodness. I was nervous about the rosemary ice cream thinking it would taste like perfume. Instead it added a refreshing clean flavor that paired well with the bread pudding. Also they make all their ice cream in the restaurant!

In summary, if you're in Salt Lake City don't miss out on eating at The Copper Onion.

Sort:  

Sounds like a super tasty dinner :) It's hard to go wrong with Wagyu, though it's hella expensive, hehe. Can't wait to see where you eat next!

Thanks for checking it out. I'm hoping to eat at some other interesting places while I'm in town.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ajaxalot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 12.28 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @ajaxalot

This post has received a 3.53 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ajaxalot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55