Flags Of Wisdom <3

in #life6 years ago

I believe that the only true religion consists of having a good heart. ~ Dalai Lama


As most of you know, I have spent a better part of my life in Nepal which also means being influenced by the culture and religion.

Buddhist principles and teachings were something were that I got acquainted to in the early days of my childhood. I remember how anything related to Buddhism and/or Buddhist people fascinated me and it still does! A very specific thing that I loved watching was a prayer flag, but I never really understood the concept of hanging them. Either I saw them as huge vertical flags on the roofs or as small flags swaying with the wind. But recently I have tried understanding the reasons behind putting up these flags..

What are prayer flags?

As the name suggests, they are pieces of cloth with prayers inscribed on them which are hung for spreading good in the surroundings. They have a specific order in which they are to be hung.

culture-1837048_1280.jpg

Do the colors mean something?

A very attractive aspect about these flags is the colors that are used and their arrangement. There is more to them than just looking beautiful though. The 5 colors ( Blue, White, Red, Green & Yellow ) represent the elements of nature and the 5 Pure Lights. These are arranged from left to right in the following order:

Blue : Represents sky.

White: Air/ Wind (Clouds)

Red: Fire

Green: Water

Yellow: Earth

tibetan-668190_1280.jpg

They bring a balance in these 5 elements of nature and are hung for spreading peace and good omen. These flags should not be kept on the ground as it is considered disrespectful and should always be in the presence of wind so the blessings can pass on along with the flow of wind. It is considered auspicious when the colors start fading away which means the prayers were carried away and they should be burnt once they are in need of replacement so as to release the last of blessings.

Prayer flags are of two kinds : Horizontal, known as the Lung Ta & Vertical, known as the Darchog. The time around Tibetian New Year is considered as an auspicious time to hang them.

alpine-1972017_1280.jpg

I personally love collecting prayer flags from different places and have got some through my friends as well. I have one hung outside my apartment as well! Because it's very peaceful for me to watch them move with the wind.. I guess. What about you guys? Have you seen them around you or in your travels?

Till then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

Sort:  

I had seen some smaller flags on cruiser-bikes but never knew what those were.
I learned something new.
Thank You :)

Glad you did! Thanks :)

Nice post you, i see read and enjoy, thanks for sharing.

you're welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52