Experiencing 3 Days of Kites & Lanterns!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The following are some of my best memories from last year. It was during my birthday, also when we celebrate Makar Sakaranti here in North India along with the kite festival. The kite flying commences a few days before 14th of January.

What can you see?

Well the mornings are full of excitement and chances are you will wake up with beats of Bollywood music playing in your neighbours home. As soon as you are on the terrace, the first thing you will see is everybody going bonkers over something in sky... Wait, what are those..?

KITES!!

Yep. It's like creatures from the outer space have taken over Earth. Hahah, okay I won't be too dramatic. It's actually a very happy atmosphere, everyone has to win the kite fight. And me.. well I am a nice spectator as I don't know anything about kite flying. What I do know is, There are lots of delicious stuff you can find in every home!

I got this shot of me with the help of @ayushijain!


IMG_6190.JPG

I clicked some images with my camera and phone and I was quite happy with the results, although they were nowhere near to what I could see in person :)

DSC_0136.JPG

DSC_0108.JPG

DSC_0015.JPG

IMG_8534.JPG

IMG_8533.JPG

Here we were preparing the lantern for releasing it along with the other ones (as you can see above also). I wished for a year full of excitement and new adventures with loads of happiness while doing so <3

IMG_6095.JPG

IMG_6109.JPG

IMG_6105.JPG

IMG_8531.JPG

IMG_8530.JPG

IMG_6100.JPG

IMG_8535.JPG

IMG_8536.JPG

We had an awesome bonfire after all of this. Some of my friends prepared dinner while me and one of my other friend took charge of the bonfire along with some specials ;)

IMG_6113.JPG

IMG_6121.JPG

IMG_6117.JPG

Sort:  

I remember this day! lady didn't show me her face coz it was all cake 😂

Lol Nooooo! I really was covered up in cake :D You enjoyed the view that's what matters :P

Aye that day was memorable :')

Kite festival is one of the most colorful celebrations here in Lahore too and we really enjoy it. However, there have been bans on it from govt from time to time because it was dangerous for the people specially those traveling on motorcycles. Now, the govt is once again planning to remove ban from this festival called Jashn e Baharan and I'm unable to understand was the govt right then or now. Funny isn't it? :) Perhaps, Hasrat Mohani had said these verses when he was encountered with a similar situation:

Khirad ka naam junoon rakh dya, Junoon ka khirad.. Jo chaahe aap ka husn e karishma saaz kare

Very well written post @aishwarya. The photos, videos and specially the persons in both of them are looking very beautiful. ;)

Steem On!

Oh I didn't know that!
Yeah tell me about it.. Same thing happened here, I don't think there was a ban as such but people do get injured because of this.
It is kinda funny yes..! Can you explain me the meaning of those verses?

Thank you so much for your thoughts <3 You are too kind!

One of the best Festival,the most best part is the food made on this day & gathering of all!!Well,the pics are all really good and great!!

I know right! Delicious food everywhere. Glad you enjoyed this.

What a beautiful experience to have had in India. There are so many lanterns in the sky! It must have felt like watching something out of a movie. Thank you for sharing this experience!

It is one of the best views of my life. Hundreds of lanterns all around glowing like BIG FIREFLIES. I have never seen a firefly in real so yeah hehe :) You're welcome!

i like your sense of humour ,the way you compared kites with space aliens and those pics of lantern are just amazing its worth watching ...thanks a lot @aishwarya for such an joyful post ..i really could feel the joy and happiness hidden in this post

Hahah trust me, it exactly feels like that. Not even kidding! It's kids and kites all around!
Glad you enjoyed it! Crazy as in Dashain.

I was reading the kite part and thinking about commenting about lanterns and then I got to second part and you were talking about lanterns. Just made me happy :)

Aww, that's so nice to hear <3 Thank you!

Kite festival looks to be awesome! I remember flying kites as a kid!

Good share! :)

It is. Especially the kite competition held in Nahargarh fort! I tore kites as much as I flew them :P
Thank you.

I have heard a lot about Rajasthan, its forts and the beauty of the desert! I really need to come and check it once! Maybe during some kite competition! :)

That would be perfect. You would enjoy the kites for sure :)

miss it the most of Jaipur

I know you do :)

That is fracken cool. Really nice night I bet.

It was awesome!

one of the amazing days :) great pictures and memories too

Indeed. What magical weekend that was!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68