Design Stories #3

in #life6 years ago

Today we arrive on the third and final part of my product development which is about it's description and the final shoot. I along with @ayushijain and one of my friend (who helped with the photographs) went to a park which was the perfect location for the shoot.

We started off with trying out compositions as you can see in the picture below. The product is divided into compartments for this prototype. This is not the final product but more of an attempt to understand the technicalities and workability of the product.

DSC_0104.JPG

DSC_0107.JPG

The product has a detachable water holder and palette which makes it easier for the user to work with. It avoids water contact with the outer body of the product. The acrylic palette is easy to clean and reassemble.

DSC_0110.JPG

DSC_0130.JPG

As you can see in the picture, it can accommodate 6-7 brushes at once along with some basic stationary in the other end. (A pocket is provided for things like tissues, pencils, erasers, etc.) I decided to leave it unpolished and I love the color combination of the rustic look with rexine.

DSC_0135.JPG

DSC_0138.JPG

There are a couple of things that I have to figure out with the kit moving forward. There was a heavy time crunch with this one and led to some compromises in the making. For example: addition of an adjustable strap so it can be carried around independently, redesign the lid of the water holder so as to avoid spilling or leaking of water while being carried from on place to another, etc.

DSC_0152fefe.jpg

DSC_0152efewrvg.jpg

As the final step for our juries we had to compose presentation sheets clearly describing our design ideologies and process. The following are the compilation of the entire process along with the detailed drawings on autocad.

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.07.49 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.07.52 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.07.54 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.07.56 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.07.58 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-21 at 10.08.00 PM.png

Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Love the prototyping! And the use of copper and acrylic together. I think it'll make for a beautiful product that I'd be very happy to buy. Curious about the pricing :) I imagine that you use rexine to offset the cost of copper?

Dunno if you know Design Jatra. Friends of mine came up with these stationery holders made out of bamboo, made by tribals in Maharashtra. All funds from the sales go to the development of their village. Depending on the size and shape they cost anything between 250-600 INR .

Your prototype reminds me of this but seems to be more specifically targeted towards watercolour artists. Wondering if that's a limitation. In any case, it's beautiful and exciting and I hope the jury liked it :)

It cost me around Rs. 2000 to get this one done actually, but it's also because it is a single product and I understood the other combinations of material which could possibly reduce the costing. I used rexine for the look and feel of it actually :)
It was a great learning experience, nevertheless. The jury also had some really valuable insights for me for further development.

I must say these stationery holders look amazing! And reasonable pricing too! Also, I love the fact that the funds are being used for a greater good. Cheers to that :)

Oh nice. Do you prefer rexine over leather? That's a first! Would love to see this project going further and seeing your products on shelves.

Yeah I do actually. I like to avoid using leather.
Thanks a ton! Means a lot :)

Lovely idea and great photos!

Thank you so much <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52