An Eye-Opener!

in #life6 years ago

How many times have you lived an entire day blissfully - without a single moment of anxiety, agitation, irritation, or stress? How many times have you lived in utter and absolute pleasantness for twenty-four hours? When was the last time it happened to you?

person-1357485_1280.jpg

These sentences have been running in mind ever since I read them in the book Inner Engineering- A Yogi's Guide To Joy by Sadhguru. I am forced to think on these lines and have been asking myself the same things over and over again. Only the first few pages were enough to make me say "Oh my god! That's absolutely true!"

For example : I was reminded of how content we used to be as kids, and we didn't know of so many ways to bother ourselves. How opinions wouldn't matter and little things would make us the happiest. When we would be happy for no reason and lived blissfully..? It seems to me that a lot of us start losing this quality as we grow up. This specific paragraph talked about how our pleasantness is dependent on external factors when instead it should be a natural state of the body. We rely too much on the outside also comprising of our friends, family, co-workers, etc. when in reality all we should be is content from within. And I have also come to terms with this recently. No matter who it is, giving him/her the authority to control the way you feel is absolutely unnecessary. There is no need of pleasing other people in order to be happy after all.

It is you and only you who can free yourself, in order to remain joyful. Stop controlling what's happening on the outside and focus completely on what lies inside. I have actually started understanding this and I am trying to learn more everyday :)

I really look forward to what this book of teachings hold for me in the coming pages! I think that's it for today but I will end this with one of the best & funniest things that I read in the book. Hope you enjoy it too!

IMG_0053.JPG

Till then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

Sort:  

Speaking of how content we used to be as kids, I fondly remember that time of my life when all I wanted every day after coming back home from school was power to stay just so that I could watch an hour of SWAT Kats and Dexter's Laboratory. :D Now I live in a city where power hardly goes for an overall thirty minutes every year and nothing on TV excites me anymore.

Oh tell me about it! SWAT CATS were the BBBEESSTT! And I always got referred to as "DEE DEE" by @sauravrungta :P
Wrecking this lol
And yes, I miss good TV too.

writing is very meaningful from you @ aishwarya, I always wait for your next post, thank you very much

Thanks a lot. :)

I guess that's why it is important to exhale all the bullshit out of our life and be happy & content with what little we have and move on.

Yep. Ain't nobody got time for bbullshit!

Absolutely true Aishwarya. With time we forget the real us in the name of getting mature and responsible.

Yeah, well said @thenomadictales. That's why I try and live everyday to the fullest! :)

you bring awesome content every time ..... keep up good work https://steemit.com/@aishwarya :)

Glad you like it! Thanks. :)

Ahaha! Moral is rightly put by Sadhguru. I gotta pick up one of these!

You definitely should!

Yes you are welcome
I have incredible content tonight.
if you have time look at my post

After reading this page, I will definitely read this book.

Let me know if you like it!

Really your every post is awesome. Thanks for sharing Maam...
Following you for more.
You can visit my profile I hope you will like my photography ...@shoot

Thanks! Will be doing that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61