A Glimpse Of My Ancestral History To Remind Me Of My Roots

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"Just come with us and I assure you that you'll really like it. You will get to see your grandpa's house again!"

It was hard to believe my mother when she said this to me because the only thing I could visualise was walking in the scorching sun and regretting the decision of going to my father's hometown. It is about 7 hours away from the city of Jaipur and I have already been there many times. But visiting that place in the summer sun with not many facilities didn't seem like my way of starting with the vacations. But somehow I managed to shut my logical self up and agreed to go with my family.

Halfway through the journey I was told that we were staying at this really nice place with cool huts and stuff and I was starting to feel that maybe it really wasn't a bad idea afterall. It was dark by the time we reached and I couldn't believe what I was seeing in front of me. It was a fantastic place built in the middle of nowhere! Me and my brother @sauravrungta were stunned and excited at the same time. :) I couldn't take a lot of pictures during the night but managed to get some, the next day.

IMG_2707.JPG

IMG_2762.JPG

IMG_2759.JPG

IMG_2760.JPG

IMG_2765.JPG

IMG_2687.JPG

IMG_2689.JPG

After having our breakfasts it was time to go and take a look at my dad's house which I have always loved going to. This is the entrance door (picture of a certain portion) which is about 7'6" tall. Isn't the layering and detailing just amazing? <3

This place is around a 150 years old which dates back to a period before the Independence of India.

IMG_2757.JPG

IMG_2761.JPG

Legend has it that there is a lot of buried treasure beyond this door along with similar 2 doors which have been sealed inside out! I would be lying if I told you that I didn't have the urge to get a glimpse of what's inside ;)

IMG_2754.JPG

After having a complete tour of the house we had a visit to our ancestral temple. Now, I don't know if I believe everything that my parents were telling me about the history of this place but it certainly was interesting! In the middle of this, I saw a white kitty which seemed to be asking for milk from the priest :P

IMG_2758.JPG

I have always loved wandering around the gardens of this temple. There are big trees bearing mangoes whereas the small ones bearing lemons. I saw these beautiful flowers as I went further ahead. My dad was the happiest one to be here as he has spent his entire childhood in this town and the thrill with which he was sharing about it was what mattered the most :)

IMG_2721.JPG

IMG_2767.JPG

IMG_2714.JPG

We went to a few more places and my mom shopped a little. In the meantime, me and my brother were having a chat about how wonderful the day turned out to be. Even though the climatic conditions were rough I loved spending the time learning more about my ancestral history and would love to go back in the winters <3

IMG_2750.JPG

IMG_2764.JPG

IMG_2768.JPG

Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Very beautiful place and I loved the pictures! May I know the name of this place?

Thank you @geetharao <3
The place is known by the name Bagar. :)

Beautiful photos and thank you for sharing your story!

i liked the suspense

India has a great history and many stories have been assigned to them so that public can remember them very easily.

Yeah haha. Some of them are interesting too!

nice post i like it, thanks for sharing, "" please, choose me, please...!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87