You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I became Swiss

in #life6 years ago

I like the appreciation you expressed, even the knowledge(actually more than mine!) of culture and typical celbrations show a good interest. Looking at this attitude make people born here appreciate more what we actually have! I personally like the nature surrounding us the most, you really can go out of the door and being immersed in the nature in few steps, and since I also lived in Milan for a period I know it's a huge privilege. I also believe that every nation and culture has is beautiful things as long as less beatiful things. We should try to focus on the best to catch the good of every different way of living! I think you also pointed out some "weakness" of our culture, which I mostly identify in being a bit too serious, precise (which is mainly good) and closed. For a person coming from outside, especially if he's from an expansive country, it can probably take years to be well integrated and it's not easy to face it.
I've been to holland in honeymoon and what can I say? I found a really beatiful place with nice and really kind people (Except for when they drive xD). I liked the nature there too, with rabbits and deers running in the meadows just near you. Of course to be there for few days it's really different to live there!
PS I'm an HC Ambrì fan, not really a huge one though. Which is your fav?

Sort:  

You know, coming from Holland this is off course complaining on a VERY HIGH level. Both countries have very high standards of living. Both countries have a lot to offer, but I can guess for an outsider everything in Europe is very similar, where for us insiders there are huge cultural and traditional differences and I tried to point that out as well that the Swiss value those more than the Dutch.

With sports over here I had to follow my in-laws as I never had any favourites here, so as my father-in-law is a Davos fan I follow them as well, but I've never even been to a match. I also follow GC because of him and I've actually been to a few of their matches, each of them they won, but the entry prices don't justify the quality you get. You pay almost the same as for a Premier League ticket.

Yes, the Dutch are horrible drivers, I forgot to mention that :-D

Hehe so it wasn't just my impression about driving :D

LMAO I learnt to drive when I lived in England and I have to say the English are very polite in traffic compared to other nationalities, but especially the Dutch they stick on your bumper like shit. In comparison a Brit will indicate before he approches a roundabout which exit he's going to take by indicating (left for first exit, remember the drive on the other side of the road, right for third exit and no indication means straight on). I still do this over here as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47