The World is Getting Worse, and Neither You Nor I CaresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Car Traffic Edited.png

As a young person, I have generations of individuals above me offering their analysis of the world. Pretty frequently, I hear statements like “it is so sad that kids can’t roam free all day without supervision anymore” or “life is so stressful nowadays”. Although there explanations of the world in their youth are interesting, it does not dramatically change the way I see my world. In other words, my life (without past luxuries) seems normal and I do not have a big problem with it. Why is that? Because I never have experienced anything different. Therefore, I have nothing to compare this “degrading society” to.

 

I realized this to be true when explaining my favorite childhood TV shows with my little brother. Programs like PBS’s “Zoom”, “Crashbox”, and “Ed Edd n Eddy” were true hallmarks of my days growing up. However, my brother could not care less as he was preoccupied with watching Minecraft Let’s Plays on Youtube. It then dawned on me, absolutely no one, aside from other like minded late-millennials, could ever and will ever understand my TV watching experiences. These experiences exclusively belong to my peers.  These experiences exclusively belong to my peers.

 

I believe that as long as your biological needs are met and you feel secure, humans are indifferent to their surroundings if it is all they know.  This has interesting  implications for the handling of our future.

Interstellar and Other Apocalyptic Movies 

We are all familiar with films such as Interstellar.  In case you aren’t, the premise is that Earth is facing an extreme apocalypse, and for the human race to continue, people must leave in search of a new planet.  Imagine if this were to happen to you! You would be devastated to have to literally leave the home of mankind for hundreds of thousands of years.  The communities you were a part of, the landmarks with personal significance, and even the moon in the sky are ALL GONE.  However, the crazy thing is that your children, and definitely your grandchildren, would be indifferent (as long as their needs are met).  Your stories of earth are nothing more than a story.

 

Our Dream Future

Now, let's change gears to the future we all hope for.  Flying cars take us wherever we need to go in an instant, robots cater to our every needs, unlimited power sources allow us to innovate and create without the limitation of our current power restraints.  This would require decades upon decades of brilliant minds.  Trillions of dollars would have to be invested into projects that slowly inch their way to reaching this state of existence.  However, those born into this world will think nothing of it.  They would not be able to imagine a world without these luxuries.  Sound familiar? This is our existence now.  Most people in “advanced” countries live better than the wealthiest individuals 100 years ago, but somehow find problems to occupy their time.  

 

Future Car Edit.jpg

The human condition is very interesting.  Perhaps this mental intergenerational amnesia of the past is a gift from God allowing us to not relish on the past and live in the present moment.  I think it is a good sentiment to have as we move towards our unknown future.

Sort:  

Human is the most adaptive animal on a planet, we adapt to everything, we get used to everything and simply move on. But unfortunately, without knowing where we come from, we will never know where we are going to. Humanity at the moment has no purpose, we have no ultimate goal to achieve. Now take our society and narrow it down to one person. If an individual has no purpose for existence, he most likely lives a self destructive, meaningless lifestyle. In my belief, this is what is happening to our species right now. I hope we will achieve something like ''The Venus Project'' offers and will fix most of the problems society and environment has, but with greed that perpetuates our society, it doesn't seem to be possible.

I agree. I almost wish that a group of like minded people can get our own corner of the planet and try to shape society to a more sustainable, meaningful existence. However, even then, distractions will arise.

In order to have a corner for like minded, this corner needs to contain greatest minds of this planet an be technologically advanced very far beyond the rest of the planet, so nobody would in dare to attack or destroy this corner. Not an easy task, but well, maybe will see a crazy bitcoin trillionaire who will make this happen :)

i think peace is immanent. there are less and less barriers to seeing the consequences to ones actions, and realization that to realize peace you must be peace, and those in power now do not want peace, or else we'd have it.

but it will take a change of heart. taking care of each other being a prime responsibility, while frills take a backseat until we get things of prime importance taken care of.

Very true 🤔

My sister will never understand the greatness of 90s television and music as I'm 17 years older than her. However, she is happy because she doesn't know what she's missing out on.

Ignorance is bliss.

Haha, I feel you. I do not know what it is about 90s shows and music, but it as an aesthetic I feel can not really be copied.

Congratulations @aircastle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your "Dream Future" has no people in it. I "look forward" to a deep dystopia if we continue to think that smart cars are more important than smart drivers. Discuss :-)

Wow, I didn't realize there were not any people in that picture. I guess we are antisocial in the future.

I do not think smart cars would cause a dystopia. However, I am worried that a unified system that automates self-driving cars (such as those being proposed) would be hacked. Imagine the huge death toll of a tragedy like that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44