You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Are The Most Comfortable Generation, Are We The Most Peaceful?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Doesn't everything move so fast? I was the first of my peer group to have a cell phone back in 1996. 16 years old playing on an ice hockey team and nobody else had one. In fact, they were making fun of me a little bit for having one.

Now, I have a love-hate relationship with tech, especially standard social media. I think it's remarkable that we can communicate and share stories with millions of people instantaneously as we do, but when I use standard social media, I quickly feel overwhelmed, it's too restrictive. For some reason, I don't feel that way with Steemit. I enjoy contributing my thoughts to this open-minded community.

I love to listen to the likes of Michio Kaku and Ray Kurzweil speak about the future and every time I do they are making some heinous predictions. I remember in 2011 listening to a youtube clip where Kaku said one day we would be able to Livestream our life and anyone in the world would be able to watch it. Check that one off :)!!

Although I don't agree with Kurzweil's position on bitcoin, he has made some incredibly accurate predictions but has admitted he isn't right on everything. Check out this essay he wrote on the status of his predictions over the past quarter of a century ending 2009.

http://www.kurzweilai.net/predictions/download.php

Out of 147 predictions made in the 80's and 90's ending 2009

78% entirely correct
8% essentially correct
12% partially correct
2% wrong

Kurzweil believes that we are in the joint of an elbow curve of exponential advancement. My point is I think we need to embrace it, focus on promoting and strengthening the positives of technology. Because we're going to see things that we now can't even comprehend that will seem completely normal at the moment.

The truth is we will always find challenge in everything we do because it's human nature. We're on this Hedonic Treadmill, we get used to positive things very quickly, and will always find something that ails us, pushing for further growth and development. Things may have been easier back in the day from our perspective, but to me, that doesn't make sense because if people that lived back then didn't feel a sense of struggle or adversity, we wouldn't be where we are today. Thank you for your inspiration. Wishing you well.

P.S. I can't wait for a universal basic income, free my time up to work on more creative outlets and things I want to do. Some countries (i.e. Sweden) already provide a basic income; they just don't call it that. A friend of mine just took a new job, but before that, she was going to be going back to school, and the government was going to pay her $1000 per month to cover basic needs while she improved herself and her ability to contribute to society.

Sort:  

You and I have basically the same mind it seems :D
I listen to Kurzweil too from time to time and though some predictions may sound "too out there", I believe that they will still come true. Who could have thought that self driving cars will be here already!!! I had thought it would take them like 20 years or so.

UBI will be an interesting watch. I done correctly, it has the potential to free up the masses to pursue their dream career and it will unlock SO MUCH of human potential that we cannot even imagine right now. Just think about what that will do to the world!

Yes, I agree. My friends and my wife haha can get a bit impatient with my wonder of the future. But I love it. I could talk about it all day long. We are going to see some amazing shit very soon here, but will it just feel normal when it happens?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99