If you think you know everything, you’re most likely wrong – Why I love TED talks!

in #life7 years ago

wondering-1309676.jpg

How a commitment to personal improvement through continual learning can make you a better Steemian.

I wrote yesterday about the importance of having respect for other’s beliefs, and accepting that you can’t possibly know everything. You can read that post here;

How to not be ignorant about the world – and in the process become a better Steemian

One of the drivers behind this series of posts is the recent (and probably ongoing) flag wars that have seen some publicity across a variety of feeds over recent weeks. To my mind, in most cases flagging someone is a counter-productive way to approach community governance. It can amount to little more than attempting to censor the beliefs of those you disagree with.

I would always advocate engaging in constructive dialogue with someone rather simply flagging a post because you find it unpalatable.

The approach I try to take when I come up against an opinion I disagree with is to put forward an alternative. The job then becomes to convince that person of why another point of view may be worthy of their consideration. This doesn’t always work, but at least it’s a constructive way to approach a conversation, rather than simply getting into an argument.

In order for this approach to work though, you need to know what you're talking about.

You can’t possibly have an informed opinion, if you aren’t yourself informed. I’m sure everyone can think of a least one occasion where they have been caught in a conversation with someone who clearly doesn’t know what they are talking about. Most likely it frustrated you and made them seem like a fool, whether they realised it or not.

Thought Leadership and Knowledge

Steemit is a platform where many people share views about many issues. If you wish to be a thought leader, and influence others with your opinions, then you must constantly strive to be well informed. This doesn’t happen by itself. A commitment to personal improvement through continual learning allows you to have confidence that the opinions you put forward are educated ones. They might still be wrong, but you’re improving your chances.

This is where TED talks come in. There are numerous ways that you can seek to educate yourself on any given subject, but I feel that TED has provided us with a great resource right at our fingertips.

TED talks represent an enormous wealth of information, stored online, and accessible by anyone who has 10-20 mins to spare. I have seen TED talks given by distinguished academics, current and former world leaders, Nobel laureates, and also by ordinary people who have experienced extraordinary things. Not every TED talk is amazing, and not every opinion is correct, but if there is a topic that interests you then chances are, there is a TED talk about it.

  • Do you want an opinion on why American politics has become so polarised and what, if anything can be done about it? There’s a TED talk on that topic. Jonathon Haidt, a world renowned psychologist discusses this issue in one talk I watched.

  • Do you want to learn more about global poverty and what can be done to eradicate it? There are numerous talks on that, including the one I shared yesterday.

  • What about cyber bullying. If you’re of my generation, then this is something you probably didn’t have to deal with as a child. Never the less, it is something that almost all of us with children have to deal with today. There’s a multitude of talks on this topic including one by non-other than Monica Lewinsky.

It will be my aim to share a number of these talks each week as a complement to my other blog posts. Not all of them will be of interest to everyone, but I will endeavour to provide talks that I think are of good quality, and present a wide range of perspectives.

To kick off this series of posts I thought I would start with the talk that is rated as the most popular TED talk of all time. It deals with education, and some of the views it shares are a little unconventional. It’s thought provoking though. Enjoy.

Ken Robinson – Do schools kill creativity?

Image courtesy of www.freeimages.com

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

@aghunter,

Enjoyed your post.

I'm an avid fan of TED talks, especially their quantum physics series.

Upvoted, following, and calling on the @originalworks and @steem-untalented upvotes for your post.

Namaste (I recognize the divine in you),

JaiChai

Namaste @jaichai

Thank you for your kind words, both on my post and on myself. I am working to improve the spiritual aspects of my life through meditation and mindfulness, so your observation is at least partially true :) I wouldn't say I am divine, but I work everyday to get a little bit closer!

Awesome post, i have seen that video of Ken Robinson before, powerful thought provoking statements. I was lucky enough to work with a couple Montessori schools at my first architectural job and it just opened my eyes to the difference in pedagogy and philosophy... so much more "real world" than traditional school systems.

We looked at some Steiner Schools for our girls. Didn't end up going with them, but they had some very appealing aspects. I think the key take away for me from looking at different types of schooling is that there is no right answer. It really depends on the child and what they need/respond to.

absolutely. Im so shocked that teachers dont also acknowledge that kids have different learning styles and needs.... Like imagine if the teachers structured their classes around the students needs and learning styles...

I used to think they did but now having my daughter at a small village school in NSW, I think the small schools are where it's at. School for her went from something austere and scary to an environment that's fun and that is all that's needed. Keep schools fun for kids and they learn more.

The school she was at previously was too large and it was impersonal and the kids from different age groups weren't really allowed to mix. In a small school of around 40 kids, it's more like a family and everyone plays with each other. She's really loving it and it's creative. I just think schools need to be kept smaller and more decentralised. Of course that's hard to do in a city.

My daughter starts school in two weeks. 130 kids in her year (prep/kindy)!!!

We have a friend whose daughter goes to a school of the same size as yours. Her daughter loves it.

scary eyes

Got your attention though!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aghunter to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74