Manitou Incline

in #life6 years ago

So, I have been a bit lazy for a while and I am trying to get out more. I have realized that I want to lose a little bit of weight since I have been on a scale a few weeks ago. I am out of shape, although people say that I don't look that way. In my quest to start to lose some weight I have been doing the Manitou Incline. This page can give you some information on it if you don't already know about it.

http://manitouincline.net/main.htm

Within the last few weeks I have done the incline a few times and my times look to be going down.

025.jpg

The first line is for the Barr Trail which is a cutoff point for some people because they are not able to make it up all the way. I have been keeping track of this time in my head just for general reference. I think that once I get under 25 minutes to it, I will stop recording it.

The 2nd line is obviously the top of the Incline where I stop. I actually go about 100 or so feet past the actual top of the railroad ties because that is what I decided to do one day. And now I always do it.

The 3rd line of my total time would be nice to get back under 1 hour. There was a few years ago where I was doing the Incline more often and was doing other stuff to keep in shape where that wasn't much of a problem. Now it would be a nice goal. Eventually I would like to be doing the Incline everyday, then twice every other day, and then twice a day. When I can get my times down a bit better then that will get easier to do.

On the 23rd you will notice that my time was drastically increased. This is due to an issue I haven't quite figured out yet. Which can be a slight warning for some people if you are not in shape or you are not careful. I am thinking part of my exhaustion was due to lack of not eating enough, going too many times too quickly, or something else. The problem with what I was feeling is that it had never happened before. Not even close.

I start out riding my bike to the Incline. I did ride and do the Incline on the 22nd, and I figured I was in good enough shape to go again. I guess I felt a little bit tired already when I was leaving for the Incline in the morning. Paid no attention to it, because that is part of the process of getting back into shape. So, I didn't quite feel anymore tired or winded than normal than anytime before. Once arriving at the Incline, I locked my bike, drank some more water and started my time when I started walking up. I did eat a banana before I left the house and I brought a 2nd one to eat when I started. Figured it would be good since I haven't been eating like I should while working out. For some reason I have just been too lazy to eat even when I am hungry.

After going for a little bit, I noticed that my lips were a little bit numb. It was a little weird, but I didn't really cared. Thought it wasn't a big issue. I did kinda feel that it was a little hard going up that morning and I didn't know why. I figured out how bad it was when I got to the Barr cut-off and my time was off by a few minutes. My time should have been decreasing, not increasing. By this time I was also feeling a bit more numb, but over my whole body. And it did seem that I was a little out of breathe, but I had no problems breathing. Well, I was here anyway, and I hate not going to the top once I get there. So, I pushed on as best I could. I tried resting a bit more than normal, but it wasn't helping. The more I went on, the more numb I felt. I had been drinking plenty of water.

When I got to the top, I was feeling quite a bit out of it due to the numbness. But then I didn't really have a choice. I had to get down to get to my bike to go home and see if the issue would go away. Being a bit nervous going down in my condition, I pushed on the best I could. It was a little before the cut-off to the bar trail that I figured I would stop and lay down to see if I could get some of the feeling to go away. That did not work. After a couple minutes I got up and kept moving down. After I got to the bottom, I stopped my watch and saw my shitty time. There was no way it was going to be a good time, I just still hate doing that bad. For some people that would be good. However, for me, I have done much better.

I felt quite numb by the time I did hit the bottom. I figure that over my whole body it was about 40% numb. Which is a feeling I have never felt before. Could have been more of a percentage, but there is no way to know. I tried asking for a ride by someone that was in a truck, but they turned me down. Tried to sit down for a little bit, but the feeling was not going away. So, I figured, fuck it. There was only one way I was going to get home. Me.

I was a bit nervous going down the hill from the Incline because it is pretty steep and I was hoping my hands weren't too numb to be able to press on my brakes. I did make it down and started going through Manitou Springs on my way home when the numbness was starting to go away. I stopped at a Safeway on the way to get a power bar, figuring that would help. By that time the numbness was subsiding pretty good and was getting close to being gone. I ate the power bar before I even got out of the store (yes I still paid for it) and then I had to make it the rest of the way home. The rest of the trip was made with about the same amount of effort as times before.

So, I still have no clue what happened exactly. I have talked to some people and been told over exhaustion, not enough food, elevation sickness (or something like that), even was suggested maybe low blood sugar. Still no clue about what happened. I do plan on going tomorrow morning, Friday morning, and then Saturday morning at a slower pace with my friend because she does not go as fast as me. Tonight I will be eating a bit for dinner so I am not as hungry in the morning. Thinking about drinking more powerade so I'm not overloaded with water. I can eat a power bar and banana in the morning to see if that helps. I probably should do some stretching too. Then I will also start doing a regular workout aside from just riding to the Incline and going up and down it. I will try to post my times every Friday or Saturday with possibly a new report on how the days went. And my times should be decreasing. Would be nice to get a group together sometime of people that do read my post, even if it won't be as fast as the times that I can do. It sucks doing most of everything alone.

I will also be posting some videos that I did a while ago for Youtube. They were taken down from Youtube and I think it was because I did not click the over 18 button when posting them, however my videos are not that graphic or bad. If you read my first post from a few weeks ago, you will notice that I am a nudist. And I do need to workout more to get in the shape that everyone thinks I am. So, I posted some family friendly nudist workout videos. I am hoping to get some followers that also want to get in shape, and may also want to try nudism. There will be no sexual component to my videos (even though with the wrong thoughts, anything can be seen as sexual), so it is safe for the whole family. Might even be a good workout for the family to do together whether they chooses to have clothes on or not. Might even eventually start a live D.tube so that people can basically workout the same time I am. So, please lookout for those videos and please comment (nothing sexual or rude) so that I know how I may tailor videos in the future for people who are asking specific questions about a workout or other things that they might be able to do. I am not a physical therapist or personal trainer, so you may need to consult a doctor or training professional if you are having issues will something. I will do the best I can to give good advice.

Well, if you were able to finish all this reading then, I appreciate it. Next time I post I will try to get more pictures. Other than that, have a good day.

Affe XIII

Sort:  

@affexiii, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

I look forward to your family friendly nudist workouts!

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

When I can get my times down a bit better then that will get easier to do.
It should be better than instead of better then.

No. I am not saying my time will get better than something else. I am saying that when I get my times down better, then that will get easier. You are reading it wrong.

LOL. All that needs to be done is add a comma between better and then, which you did in your reply. Where did the gramarnazi learn English?
Nice post. I skimmed it. I'll let you know what I think later should I come back to this.

I do recommend getting and reading the book "The Secret Life of Plants" to get a better understanding of the food we all should be consuming. It may (probably will) help you to have higher energy levels and eat less. (I suspect you are eating food that makes you more hungry because of what is added to the food to make it look "good and appetizing.")

Not even close

I like this place. I'm inspired to write a post based on this quote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51