You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What If Vulnerability Was The Ultimate Key To Personal Success? Let Me Surprise You!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've always really sucked at small talk, which has sometimes made me seem strange to others I'm sure and limited my ability to be a more social person. If an interaction isn't rich in meaning and vulnerability, I'd rather not bother. Instead, I would rather have time and space to enter altered states of deep play consciousness. I am never bored there.

Thanks for this amazing post!

Sort:  

I always wanted to chat with Johnny Depp once in my life :-)
To be honest, I'm also not the best small talker and appreciate going a bit deeper. Obviously, in social media it's not always easy to do so. Still this is a place where you can find people who are interested in feeding each other lines.

Thanks for your comment, it's been special!

A deep conversation is what I am always hungry for. Unfortunately, in our societies we fear being vulnerable and have rich conversations "even with the right people. We have to solve trust issues first! We are afraid they'll use our weaknesses towards us one day! Some prefer fake conversations and connections and others prefer being alone! We need to start trying and embrace new capacities. As soon as I realized this, I started to open up my real-self and soul with people through Steemit, never did it before because I was busy in acting out the soul of characters I played. This train of thoughts has now become one of my favorite things to ponder.

You touched some really important points here! When I started to write this article it was actually meant to uncover something I had discovered in my recent conversations on Steemit. There are quite many people out here who constantly wait for your next mistake in order to celebrate it. This may lead to such culture of defense play. But then I found Brené Browns video and another one that inspired me to promote the very opposite: don't hide, open yourself!

Have a great Sunday! I'll get my surfboard ready now :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69