You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Cook Steemit Crack and Destroy the Neighborhood

in #life6 years ago

I wonder if many of the bot vote buyers also buy likes and followers on other networks? When I first joined, so many bots commented on my posts that I was wondering if any real people were on Steemit. It was pretty off putting.

I know enough not to buy "likes"or followers or whatever. I make my living selling my art and merch with my designs. I want to build a following for my art. Of people who hopefully might actually buy some one day. Not of bot votes... Dial up bbs's died, IRC chat rooms died, MySpace died, Facebook is dying, Steemit will probably be replaced with something new & better in 5-10 years tops. But if I can build some solid relationships with people who like my art in that time - that's why I'm here. Steem/crypto is icing on the cake.

Sort:  

You've been in the business long enough to know how it works. Many people here heard make money online! They quickly signed up with little to no experience, but they want that money! So they... get this... they buy it! < insert cheesy laugh track here >

Now if that isn't the stupidest thing you ever heard, you must be listening to a kazoo too much.

As an artist, would you ever have the nerve to conclude your latest work is your best and good enough to be trending because you say so? You can name your price, but it's up to everyone else to decide whether or not it's worth purchasing.

It's no different for anyone writing an article, sharing some photography, producing a vlog, musicians, entertainers. We're not allowed to say, "this is the best because I fucking say so."

Now I'm ranting... better calm down.

Well, now I want to paint "This is the best because I fucking say so" on a canvas and price it for like $50K.. :P lol If it was up to me every piece I paint would be trending, I usually like the art I create. A lot of artists I'm friends with are forever posting about how much they hate their most recent work in progress... I don't get that. I'm usually more like "Wow I did that? Awesome!" lol Of course that doesn;t mean I think everyone else should like my art, just that I'm lucky in a way that I DO like the art I make. It makes it easier to ignore haters... I'm fond of this meme for haters

dude.jpg

Hey! I like mine too... but that doesn't make it the best. For me to find out the truth on Steemit, I'd have to create something awesome and hope to see votes which would bring more views, then maybe more votes, then more views, then more votes... and that is story of how to trend the honest way.

Maybe the title of my next post will be, "This is the best because I fucking say so."

By the way, you better abstain from voting for awhile. Let your power charge up. It's nearly down to 10% of it's full potential.

The other day I red an article geared towards newbies that said to vote a lot, basically the gist was 10% of almost nothing is not much worse than 100% of almost nothing. Is that not good advice? lol

Use this: https://www.steemnow.com/@adammillwardart

You want to vote a lot, but also keep your voting power near the top. It's a balancing act. The reason I can dish out so much for these comments is because I'm only using 10% power votes and under, in most cases.

Right now, my voting power is at about 67% which means I can only give about $3.44 if I dish out a full 100% vote. I'd prefer to give out more, but I vote too much as well. Also, I'd get higher curation rewards if my vote power was at a higher level... and so does everyone else.

The article was basically saying nothing is nothing so until your votes are worth something, vote a lot. Even at full power I get like 3-4 votes that are worth a penny, then it's so small it doesn't even register. When my votes are worth more I'll be more careful with it for sure. In the meantime, I'll at least stop upvoting every comment when I have a conversation with someone lol

But if all of you with low SP vote a lot, to the point where the vote isn't worth anything, then you have nothing to support each other with.

They shouldn't even be calling it nothing. Nothing is zero. If 100 of you added up what they call nothing, you'd see something more than nothing beside your posts.

It took me a few months of posting everyday just to be able to give people 1 penny with my vote. They changed how things work and now people can give a penny or more within the first few days of being here.

This is how the world works though. What was once something to me is now nothing to everyone else. I even hear people complain about only earning $3 on a post. Well shit. I worked pretty damn hard to be able to give people that $3. They don't see that part though.

Part of it is also I'm so used to liking and upvoting on other platforms it's just a common social courtesy I'm used to extending. Trying to cut it down a bit today lol Personally I super appreciate your upvotes - for me any amount is great but seeing more than $1 does make me do a little happy dance - I'm like "Hell ya! I never made dick all for posting on _____" lol

yesssssssssssssssssssss. throw it around, I say. What the hell are we holding onto it for??? It's not like it's making ME money in my hand. VOTE for people. if we actually VOTED then maybe there wouldn't be a need for bots??? hmmmmm? lololol (and after voting for your comments and nonameslefttouse... i now have 15.04% I am never gonna see another 100% vote until I am out of internet range.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66431.69
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60