Fairness for all - OR - Dogs versus Cats

in #life7 years ago (edited)

While headed to the garbage bins in my building, to make a deposit, I was confronted with a dog tied to a chair in the hallway. The leash was so long it allowed the animal to reach anybody attempting to walk by. Though I do not have a fear of animals I also have a respect for the possibilities of what they are capable of. Would it bite me if I attempted to walk by? Even the tamest of dogs have been known to react strangely if they think their owner is threatened, and allowing me to walk by could have been perceived as a threat.

2018-01-07_13-55-07_resized.jpg
Sure, it looked cute enough. But was it safe to pass?

So, while this may seem like an innocent issue there is an underlying rule I haven't shared yet. Our building has a firm "no pets" rule. Because of this, our family cat moved to Ohio with my daughter back in July because I was informed he could not live with us in our new home. I was heartbroken, and I'm sure our cat was also very stressed over the move.

So this brings me to the topic of this post. The animal described in the beginning was allowed in the building because the owner had a certificate stating they required a comfort pet to help with stress and anxiety. Something I was not able to obtain for a cat, yet is often abused when it comes to dogs.

For those of you on Steem that aren't familiar, I do have anxiety issues at times. (learn more from my tech blog here and here if you're interested.) However, I was unable to retain my cat though I could easily own a dog if I desired.

This is unfair on so many levels. First, I don't really prefer a dog. No, I'm not a dog person. The odors, panting, barking, and constant need for care is not something I find helpful. However, a cat typically has no body odors, is cleaner overall (litterbox aside), and doesn't require the care a dog does.

If you are not a cat person and prefer a dog instead, that is perfectly fine. I'm not debating personal preference here. What I'm saying is that fair is fair. Why is petting a cat and having them rub against you when they sense you are stressed less therapeutic than having a dog and the attention they present?

For now, I struggle to find other outlets for my anxiety. How do you deal with yours? Or, what are your thoughts on the dogs versus cats therapy debate?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64