An Oron woman's norm.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,
I'm going to write on the struggles of a woman and a weird norm from Oron. Oron is the third largest ethnic group in akwa ibom state and fortunately, that's where I'm from. I'm from a society where men lazy around while the woman works and fend for the family. A society where everything that happens to a girl is tagged normal. A society where, a girl gotta do what a girl gotta to do to survive. A society where the woman who provides for the family gets beaten severely at the slightest provocation. image
Image source: https://www.google.com.ng/search?client=ms-android-gionee&biw=320&bih=242&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=Y6VaWoieDYX-UtWRkKgG&q=a+woman+beating&oq=a+woman+beating&gs_l=mobile-gws-img.3..0l3j0i8i30k1l2.93381.105194.0.107419.18.17.0.0.0.0.476.5616.2-6j5j5.16.0....0...1c.1j4.64.mobile-gws-img..8.9.3753...30i10k1j0i7i30k1j0i8i7i30k1j0i13k1.3021.TocfRdljemo#imgdii=Ixah91mInblH0M:&imgrc=Yek_8-qLfrPLIM:
These was getting out of hands and the elders of my community weren't saying a thing cause they were guilty of same. The women folk decided to take matter in to their hands and formed a cult called " nwan ufen". If any woman that is part of this cult is manhandled, tortured by her husband. The cult will, with immediate effect arrest the man, beat him up, and then dance around him naked while spitting dry gin (ethanol) in to his eyes and wounds. After this ritual, the man will never recover from this beatings as he eventually get sick and dies after some months. image I was little but then I watched one of the rituals, I thought it a joke until after 8months when the man was reported dead, it was then I got a better understanding of the quote " hell has no fury like the scorn of a woman". As I grew, I told my friends and they think that this ritual is weird.
In this modern times, although the maltreatment on women has reduced a lot, the men are still not fending for their families as they should. This is a message to every guy on steemit, be hardworking and please, make your own money.
I'm very new here but I see a lot of women making waves @mimy, @sweetjsss, @polebird and @ramengirl. I don't know you guys but just know that you inspired me in lot of ways. I will love to appreciate @surpassinggoogle, @nexrules, @ifioklee @ofon,these guys are good. Keep doing what your doing.
I love hardworking men and I hope to marry one someday too🙈🙈🙈

Sort:  

hell has no fury like the scorn of a woman

While I am in support of women forming a support network against domestic violence, i find it quite strange that the purnishment leads to the death of the man.

What about giving such men a second chance by making the purnishment less grievous.

Thanks @adaline for this informative article about the the Oron women.

You are always welcome

Muy buen contenido, me gusto debido a que es un tema de gran importancia al que muchos hace de cuentas que nada pasa, y es momento de que se hable de esto

Thanks dear

Hello lady from an oron brother, keep the flag high

Yes brother, so happy to meet ya.

That's a rather unfortunate norm 😞, I hope in this 21st century a good number of men in your locality have embraced responsibilities and good morals?

Nice post dear,,you have my upvote...keep it up dear

Thanks...God bless you

Great learning about the norms of the Oro nation, now I should say I'm scared about the cult and its practices, truly hell has seen no fury like a scorned woman.

Thanks for the mention, we'll keep doing great. All the best.

Thanks.....i no dey hear from u oo

Oh never underestimate the power of a woman. It's nice knowing more about your norms

Nice piece dearie.Keep it up

This thing with men maltreating women and women retaliating...I can personally relate to it. Sometimes, i wonder why some men are hopelessly shameless that tthey depend on their wives on literally EVERYTHING, not that that's bad but it becomes bad when he maltreats her...It's just unfair.
I saw a picture quote that I paraphrased thus "If your wife is the man of the house, then it's your job to scream during sex! You cannot be useless both in the day and night time." (Lol)

Men, especially "uneducated" ones need to man-up and take responsibility for their families.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64