Mindfulness tips

in #life7 years ago

sunset-691848.jpg
I have meditated for about 2 years now and didn’t have the best start. I didn’t really know what to do, nor did I have a mentor. Now, I feel like I have a much better understanding of how meditation works and can hopefully give you some advice if you are planning to start or have recently started.
In my previous post I spoke about music. Now, let’s talk about the key action in order to achieve self-actualisation and the ‘stop and think’, meditation. Surely, everyone is familiar with the term, but might not know how to approach it. From my experience, the 3 most common reasons for struggle with meditating are:

  1. ‘It doesn’t work for me, I’m different’.

This, as much as it seems plausible, is usually to do with the actual type of mediation used. Meditation doesn’t consist in controlling thoughts, but the acceptance of the thoughts. Next time you try meditating, try accepting your feelings rather than waiting for them to disappear and focus on the breathing without forcing it. It will feel more natural and much more relaxing.

  1. ‘I don’t have the time for it’.

From my research, I found that mindfulness meditation is one of the few activities that offers more time than it requires. It does sound confusing, but let’s say you meditate for 10-20 minutes every day, either in the morning or the evening, depending on how you find it better. Your time walking, breathing, being, will be much more acknowledgeable. It allows for the mind to be there, rather than anywhere else, and it allows for you to be always present in the moment, gaining so many more experiences.

"Mindfulness gives you time. Time gives you choices. Choices, skilfully made, lead to freedom. You don't have to be swept away by your feeling. You can respond with wisdom and kindness rather than habit and reactivity."

  1. ‘Mindfulness seems uncomfortable’.

Many people don’t realise how easy it is to meditate. You don’t have to sit cross-legged, fingers touching, like in pictures. A more enticing way of meditating could also be sitting in a comfortable arm chair.
This allows it be relaxing time rather than a chore.

If you have any ideas of your own please write them in the comments and don’t forget to follow me. Thanks!

Sort:  

Wonderful post @actualised 😁 This seems so useful and since im an athlete i should start doing meditation since i heard it can be really good. You really explained it well

Thanks for replying I'm happy you found it useful, please let others that you think might find it useful know about this post as I am new here, if you do have any questions I'm happy to answer them to the best of my abilities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71