Thoughts About My AcroYoga Journey - Newbie to Advanced

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I first found out about AcroYoga through a friend that I had meet at my local indoor rock climbing gym. A cute friendly yoga girl named Tatiana, introduced me to AcroYoga. She showed me how to do a few beginner moves. I became hooked on this new partner activity! AcroYoga has allowed me to experience so many amazing events and experiences over the past few years.
Now after more then five years of practicing AcroYoga, I am teaching and introducing new people to it all the time.
I love to teach people and see the excitement on there face when they first learn beginner AcroYoga.

thumb.png
The first pose everyone learns, "bird pose"

When first learning AcroYoga, the first poses you learn are "bird", "back fly" and "throne". These are all very accessible skills to learn when you first try AcroYoga. You may surprise yourself how many cool new things YOU can do! With proper instructions, just about anyone can pick up these basic moves right away.

back fly.jpg

I remember when I first started off learning AcroYoga. I was awkward, shaky, and unstable but it was so much fun! Like with all new things there is that learning curve. At first you need to learn proper technique and form. Each skill you learn will build on each other.

1xz1g4.gif
After learning a few basics you can start to get upside down.
This is a video I found of the first time I got someone into "Star Pose"
It is so awesome that I recorded this moment and to now see where my AcroYoga practice has gone.


AcroYoga has definitely changed my life in many ways.
It has allowed me to continuously be active in a fun way. It is exercise and play at the same time. When I am doing AcroYoga with someone, I don't realize I am exercising body in many ways, because I am smiling and laughing with someone else.
Activities with more then one person are always more fun for me. I love engaging with others.

AcroYoga allows you to connect with someone else. It takes good communication to do some of the skills. Asking the right questions to your partner allows you both to pick up the skills faster. Knowing what they need can help a lot. For example, better hand grip, more weight to one side or another, pushing more here or there.

The AcroYoga community is amazing. It has opened me up to many new friendships and connections. Every big city has an AcroYoga community. When I travel, AcroYoga allows me to find new friends in a city that I have never been to, and even sometimes a place to crash for the night. I am excited to be in Europe at the end of the month. One of the things I am looking forward to is meeting the AcroYoga community in Europe.

Another neat thing with practicing AcroYoga is seeing your progress over time! Like with everything, if you stick with it and practice, you will see your level of experience improve over time.
This has always been a reminder to stay consistent my goals and projects that I am currently working on. Like with AcroYoga, we will see improvement with all other goals if I stick to them and work hard.

Last weekends AcroYoga session with my friend Megan


Thanks for taking the time to read my blog post.
I hope you all have a wonderful day!!
Work hard on what you love and cool things happen!
STEEM ON!!
@acromott

Sort:  

Love the journey story! Look where you are now! Beginner to super duper advanced!

hahah Thanks Jess!! :)

What a wonderful journey, now you are very perfect in it..

this is good.
thanks for the tips..

It is already a good advanced level) Very nice!

it's a great style

Wonderful post i like it...

Interesting this yoga practice. I practice yoga, but I did not know the name of this. I thought it was called yoga in couple. Thanks for sharing. I will try to do it. Saludos desde Mexico. 🙋

Love the journey story

You're a powerful dude! Lol -you are wonderful! 😍😘😙😚😚🤗

hey buddy. reading your article and watching this video has made me want to get started with Acro yoga. Except there are not many places that do it where I live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79