Games that are useful to everyone! Upgrade your brains with Team Fortress, Call of Duty, Gears of War or Starcraft!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit!

Today I want to talk about the video games and how they affect consciousness.

play the music and read the article

For the long time it was thought that video games is just a useless waste of time. Now I can tell that is not true. Video games can boost the creativity and you really become smarter.

games
Image credit

The experiment was carried out in one university.

The scientist tried to confirm or to deny the theory that brain of the adult can create new neural connections and/or to produce new cells.

To confirm his theory he developed a special test.

Firstly, he passed this tested himself. All the results were higher than a average. He passed this test twice.

The same results! Then he suggested his colleges to pass this test.

When they passed it they results were also higher than average. Scientist thought that there is something wrong in his test and he suggested passing it to his college from another university.

When she ended her results were average. It was really a surprise because her IQ test results were high. The scientist tried to figure it out why does it happening. After a little investigation he realized that all his friends were playing the same computer game – Team Fortress.

TF
Image credit

After this discovery he realized that, the next question rose. How can video games boost the cognitive abilities?

How the games where you kill zombies, monster or aliens help you think better?

What has begun as a result of search of a mistake in a test turned out into a huge research.

Now scientists know that different games can really cause a positive effect on our cognitive abilities.

CoD
Image credit

Those who play an action games like Call of Duty or Gears of War boost they ability to focus on the certain things for example on the low contrast objects, mentally rotate objects and, of course, the multitasking.

GoW
Image credit

Moreover, those how play action games also show a better reaction than those how doesn't play.

So, let's try to understand why does it happening.

First of all, people who are trying to kill zombies they need to focus on the object and to distract from others. So the better and the faster you focus the better you play.

zombies
Image credit

The other thing that the more people play the faster they can process the information. When you play action games you must quickly understand if it is a friend or it is your enemy and to take some actions.

Faster reaction leads that brain process more visual, auditory or other information and it selects what is necessary and excludes the information that destructs.

Moreover, the better attention leads to better learning skills.

There is a question can other games can play boost you cognitive abilities.

starcraft
Image credit

Scientist say that real-time strategies (f.e. Starcraft) or quests can improve your abilities to think.


So more you play the smarter you get!


I appreceate it, if you leave Feedback and click Promotion.

gh

Follow on me, if you like my posts.

Best Regards, @acreol

Sort:  

For having Team Fortress 2 at your top of your list.
I just loved this game like no other, I am still hording a collection of items in this game. I am a collector of it in game items, huge fan boy...

Kudos.

@skapaneas thx for your feedback
I also have a couple of toys from this game))

I would love to gift you something for it then, I am mostly collecting now I don't have enough time to play much.
add me and I ll get you something if you still play it.

I recently played call of duty for the first time in my life.... I have played video games since childhood, so after a few months I did get good, but my thumb went numb for a few months... haven't played since. I guess I just wanted to see if I could still keep up with the youth, I couldn't but I was starting to hold my own. And definitely agree that games enhance your reaction time. They keep you sharp. I wish I had time to play again. Nice post.
full $teem ahead!

@streetstyle
Once a week, you can relax with your favorite game. thanks for the feedback)

Mmmhh. Interesting! I guess this may largely depends on the type of the games, on would not be true for any game.

This remembers me that I was playing a lot when I was younger, but then I got children... :D

PS: do you think you could add the links to the scientific articles you are mentioning to your post? Thanks in advance for your consideration.

@lemouth
I agree that not all games are the most useful.
As for the references to the scientific article, I'll try to find them and send you to the chat

Cool! Thanks a lot (or maybe as an update to your post as others may be interested in?) My username in the Steemit chat is @LeMouth (with some capital letters).

Well video games can help with hand eye coordination, critical thinking and much more... but what most people don't realize is all of the hidden symbolism they put in video games, movies, etc. they plant things for your subconscious mind to pick up on.

@johnnyyash I totally agree, everywhere has its advantages

ahh memories.. i use to play some a few games; these days i feel like i am not using my time well if i am playing.. thanks for providing me with some ammo to combat that line of thinking.. i have a decent gaming pc and feel it is going to waste :( might have to get back into it one night a week just to relax and have some fun time, with the added benefit of training my brain ;)

@seempower
I agree.
I also now a little time to play, but sometimes turn on PS and you can relax)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31