It's time to rid ourselves of the letters C, Q, and X

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I propose ridding ourselves of the letters C, Q and X forever...they're duplicative. We needn't use C because we have both S and K, distinctive unlike their kopykat komrade. Q doesn't even make a sound on it's own and, if there is some obscure word that begins with Q without its U crutch of which I am oblivious, it probably makes the now K sound. Thus, let's replace it with Kw...that's a kwality suggestion, I think. And for the love of God, X is just ridiculous, as evidenced by the fact that every explanation given to children of this unfortunate letter has some picture of a Zylophone next to it! We'll replace it with Ks as in Focks or Bocks or SOCKS (oh yes, I forgot...no C, but way to be inconsistent, English language). Done! 23 letters of the alphabet now - let's lobby someone about this or write a congressman or two (I'm sure they're sick of letters about you know who anyway). I could probably do something with that G/J conundrum too! Okay, that's my rant for today. -April ffb7048222a24128e5e04f0b5bcc8e8a--manuel-alphabet-stencils.jpg

Sort:  

.....it's pretty random when you think about it. Why would ch inherently make that sound? Someone just decided that it should. Technically, it probably should be its own letter (along with th), but hey... If we want to continue to be random, I say do kh - it's not anymore ridiculous than ch. Ship it! Lololol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51