Sort:  

Do I need to buy a standalone miner to mine other currencies?

Any recommended guides for beginners (if i can just use my pc)...?

Skrt
Anchorage,AK

Which currencies did you have in mind? I haven't been active in the mining game lately but I would advise you check out the mining section on bitcointalk for more information.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=42.0

I think the 3 that are interesting to me the most are bitcoin, ether, and bitshares. And I know that as of late the trend has been away from cpu/gpu based mining, I'm wondering if I can mine ether/bitshares without a dedicated stand alone miner.

Skrt,
Anchorage,AK

Yeah you can still mine ether with GPU/CPU's and there are no Asics for it but plans are that it will turn POS at some point.

Do you know a miner program that will work for different currencies that works on windows/linux ?

Skrt
Anchorage,AK

Not for different ones no. Most of the coins I am interested in lately are Proof-of-Stake (BTS/STEEM).

Ethereum and Zcash are the only ones that are still mine-able and that I have had an interest in. Were you able to find any miners on that bitcointalk link I provided? (haven't been actively mining ever since my last GPU got burnt)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34