How Black Mirror helped me find a sense of meaning.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

black-mirror-season-4-teaser.jpg
https://www.heyuguys.com/black-mirror-season-4-trailer/

Black Mirror is a TV/web series that first aired in 2011, written and created by Charlie Brooker.

It is an amazing show that has had tremendous success while at the same time bringing some very interesting psychological concepts.

I love this show and I could not stop being amazed each episode that I saw. It made me realize what a possible future could actually look like and made me question myself about what I wanted to do with my life.

I´m currently studying high school and I´m about to decide which career I´d like to study. My career of choice used to be "Hispanic Letters" (Literature) here in México and become an editor or a journalist. Later on, I realized that I did not have a motivation for that career. I never gave it a motivation, not even for money, I just wanted to study that career because I love reading and writing and I thought that that career could fit me really well.

But then I started to watch season 3 of Black Mirror, and it hit me.

e659b065892f6eef9623267a8fa8f9dffc6a540b.jpg

I am currently learning to program in HTML​ (I´m just starting out) and I´m really liking it. I´ve tried python before and loved​d it, but I had to stop learning thanks to having less time to dedicate to it.

But now that I came back (to programming in general), I´m really enjoying myself and enjoying what I do. I used to have a very grumpy point of view towards life in the past years, and when it hit me, I started to lighten up somehow.

With all the psychological inquiries​ that I have had with the show, ​ I wondered if my career was the appropriate one. I started to dream myself as a doctor, a lawyer, a psychologist and an engineer; and I was really happy in all of those scenarios and I´m pretty sure I felt that way because my motivations and intentions were to help others someway somehow.

I knew I wanted to help somehow in each area. And then BOOM! I had it.

I´ve always found joy in helping others no matter what way possible (maybe that is what built my dreams) and I knew I wanted to program so that I can actually help in all of those areas.

If I study to become an engineer in software programming here in Mexico (very near to an IT), then I could help solve a lot of the problems I´d like to to solve in all of those areas.

If I study to become an engineer in mechatronics, then I can even create devices that are for the greater good in medicine as well as create different systems so that the law could be done and justice be served (not pretty sure of the latter).

When I realized that I can do this, I just had it. All the empty boxes were checked. I only need to dedicate myself to it and it will all be done and managed somehow.

I´m really excited for this and that´s why I´m sharing it with this community that I so deeply care about.

I hope that I can get to help you in the future with some of my invention (maybe I´ll become as good as Tony Stark 😉 )

Thank you very much for your attention, and have GREAT DAY!

Sort:  

I love the Black Mirror series. I think its great that you want to help others with what you learn..I wish you the best in all you do

Thank you very much. I wish the same to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44