My Job interview experience

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I had been unemployed for a little while and believe me when I say being depressed measured up as an understatement to describing my state of mind. I reeled out job applications daily and sometimes my faithful blackberry phone ran kaput in the line of duty.
Well, let me cut to the chase and intimate you on my recent interview experience. I had just finished my beans and yam, just about to continue my job search on the internet and later switch to watch some movies when a message came in from a coy; please download, fill and return the attached form to this address it reads. I quickly downloaded the form. They were only concerned about the minimum salary I would be willing to receive as well as the proximity of my residence to their office, as a sharp boy na, of course I gave them the information they wanted because I really wanted to be invited for an interview.

A week later, got another message from the same coy inviting me for an interview. I was indeed very happy to be invited, I said to myself, Vic you mustn’t blow this opportunity. I started preparing for the interview right away and I could barely spend one minute without going over several important interview questions and answers. I was quite convinced and confident I would come out with flying colors on the day of the interview.

NIGHT PRIOR TO INTERVIEW DAY
I had moved to my friend’s place in Surulere as the interview venue was in Ikeja. I could hardly concentrate on the important issues my friend was trying to discuss with me, he quickly noticed my lack of concentration and left me in a solo mood with a parting word gift (Alaye, relax your mind and Good luck tomorrow) I spent the night going over my introduction and several other important interview tips relevant to the position.

INTERVIEW DAY
I woke up as early as possible; I was scheduled for 11:30AM. I put on my best suit with my “isale apoti” white shirt and I hit the road. I got to the venue early enough and I was given a plain sheet of paper (you know the normal drill). Please put down your name and have a seat sir, the young pretty lady said. The texture and tone of her voice alone sent a soothing relief down my spine that I almost forgot I was there for an interview. She walked past me and believe me it would have been a crime if I had carried over seeing the yellow thigh that lies under her mini skirt. I pinched myself and I was lucky to snap back quickly enough.

MY INFIDELITY MY MISTAKE
The interview took another dimension as we were informed to prepare for a quick test. I was not moved a bit, few minutes later, I was called in and given a plain sheet of paper again, I was to write an application letter as the first test. I smiled and in few minutes I done did it. Then came the true test of my integrity, I am ashamed to say I failed utterly not because I couldn’t answer the questions but because I chose to the wrong path to answering the questions. I cheated. I was not prepared for the kinda of questions I met and I became really nervous; a computer was placed in front of me and I was instructed to type my answers on MS Word. I looked at the questions and I asked myself why I never thought to do a little research on the topic, in a split second, I saw a way to quickly get it over with and I didn’t even think about the implications of getting caught in the act. The computer I was given had an active internet connection and I just added Google to my friends list immediately, oh yea I made Google my friend. There is always a feeling that comes with you doing the wrong thing; I was not at ease because I knew I was making a very wrong move. Suddenly, the lady came in after 8 minutes with a smile on her face “I hope you are almost done, you have just 2 more minutes to submit” she came closer to see how I was doing with the test. I became immediately uneasy and I knew right away that she sensed a foul soup cooking on the computer but she didn’t see nothing. I had closed and deleted everything as swiftly as possible before she made her way to my desk.

I was called in to face the CEO in his office for the main interview and after about ten minutes of chatting, I was told to wait for the last phase of the interview along with some other candidates. I look at the other candidates’ faces and I said to myself this job could be mine but you have messed up. Something deep down kept telling me how much of a disappointment I was to have done such a horrible thing. I felt awful lotta guilt running down my spine and I was so overwhelmed with it. I went in for the last phase and I nailed it just like I nailed the one before it. My heart was heavy as I lifted my case with my right hand and walked out of the reception. I had been told alongside with the other candidates that we would be contacted.

I felt very bad not because I didn’t perform well but because I let my guard down in the spirit of getting the offer at all cost and compromise my integrity in the process. I could say the frustration of being unemployed and the fright of ‘what if’ I failed the interview pushed me down the lane of having to cheat but those reasons just don’t cut it, they ain’t valid enough reasons to ever involve in such act.

I know myself to have a reasonable level of confidence but I chickened out the moment the lady came in at the 8th minute. Why? Because I was doing the wrong thing and it probably cost me the chance of getting the job. Aside the fact that the act is so ungodly, it also diminishes one’s self confidence and erodes your good sense of judgment.

I made a terrible mistake and believe me, I was not moved a bit that I was not given an offer (I wouldn’t have taken it cos of the salary anyways) but was disturbed for weeks and I felt sharing this experience, could go a long way in helping someone somewhere make a rock solid decision of staying true and upholding their integrity no matter the circumstance.

Sort:  

Congratulations @acevic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33