Resurrected My €2 Slippers With A Life Lesson Attached To Them

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I've came across some reports throughout time about how we are wasting the planets resources and what a consumers society we have become, but never paid too much attention to them. There were these kind of articles that you read the title a few main ideas and move forward, but today I realized I kinda fit in these descriptions of a resources waster although I never felt I do.

My €2 resurrected slippers proved me the opposite. I had the slippers for three summers I guess and although they were completely fine and comfortable( I have an easy walk) I felt like changing them for no particular reason and that's what I did...for a while. In winter I found on sales some pretty good ones at ten times the price of my current ones and I bought them thinking that they are worth the money and they kind of are... But since I worked as a postman a few years ago I cherish my feet alot and the price of the shoes is not that important anymore although I can't say I spend too much on shoes, but I'm not cheap either.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-18 at 19.42.37.jpeg

Now, that summer begun since April I guess, in my country, I started wearing the new ones and left the others on my balcony, but luckily haven't threw them away. Funny that even if they were ten times more expensive than the old ones there was no extra comfort, but the contrary a bit stiffer than the old ones. I kept on walking though and after a while I got used with them until the old ones entered my sight this afternoon when I decided to give them another try and see if I should throw them or not. I even went on fishing with my feet in the water to have a proper test.

And what do you know? I feel better in these old resurrected ones and I even regret buying the new... So it was time for switching places and embracing the old and comfortable while sending the stiff ones on the balcony. But there's a moral to the story, otherwise I wouldn't wrote it on Steemit. This situation got me thinking on how much "good stuff" we/I throw away very often just because we/I consider it outdated or not "in trend" anymore. I always considered myself far from wasting "Earth resources" and a person that doesn't wastes money on useless things, but this situation today actually proved me I'm wrong.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-18 at 19.25.02.jpeg

So, to make the picture complete then I reviewed my closet and realized that almost 30% of my clothes just lay there unworn until they get outdated and replaced by new ones while some people are wearing torn clothes and probably no shoes or some in very bad condition. This for me became a reality and it's not only about clothes anymore as I realized that in the "resources and money wasting" category I can put easily food and why not gadgets. I will revise though this attitude and plan on donating some of these clothes that I don't wear. There are enough poor around who would for sure wear these clothes. At least that I can do for now...and of course stop buying useless stuff in the future. So, the resurrected slippers will be making my foot steps for this summer also and probably the next one while the new ones will wait patiently for their turn.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Nice post Good material nice photos I like to recommend and best regards

@acesontop You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83