How To Be Memorable

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-29642.jpg

I'm a weirdo.

I spend an extraordinary amount of time thinking about how to stand out whether that be personally or professionally.

Nothing brings me more joy than brainstorming with my friends and peers on how they can execute on their goals.

But here's the thing.

I don't want to help them just apply to a job. I want to help them stand out.

I don't want to help them start a blog. I want them to build a blog that matters.

I don't want to just introduce them to people I know. I want to create win win relationships for all.

I've applied for my many jobs over the years, and I always go out of my way to stand out.

It doesn't always work. In fact, I've been 'rejected' more times than I can count. But I'm certain the extra effort makes all the difference in the long run.

For example,

During my senior year at the University of Missouri, I had no job lined up. I was worried and my grades sure as hell weren't going to help me get in the door.

So what did I do? I traded Gary Vaynerchuk 5SNES games for a 5 minute interview. I got the job.

A few years back, I applied for a retail position at Apple.

The competition was surprisingly stiff. So what did I do?

I bought a domain and created a simple website and recorded a 60-minute video on why I was a good fit.

More recently, I applied to the awesome social media company Buffer. I rounded up video recordings of several of my former employees. I made a video with them talking about my character. I spent over 20 hours on my application.

And while I got an interview... It didn't end up working out.

Effort matters. It doesn't always guarantee success.. but the more effort you put in.. the better odds you have.

So easy to forget this.

We tend to make so many excuses on why we can't do something. But it's almost always because we choose to forgo the effort.

Putting in the effort and not getting the results sucks. But it's much better than the alternative.

You can't be memorable if you're full of excuses.

Every extra step you take to be memorable sets you a part.

If you want to be memorable, you have to do things that others don't.

It's really that simple.

Sort:  

I was just talking with my Dad about what is means to be remarkable. He was saying that is something people will make remarks about.

When you are memorable you are remarkable.
Best,
Isaac

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82