The importance of pivoting..

in #life6 years ago (edited)

philipsidney3-2x.jpg

A few years back, when I was just starting to work in the medical field, I found myself struggling with the seasonal nature of the business. At times it was so busy that there was more than enough hours for anyone who wanted to work extra to do so. Other times it was so slow that people's hours were routinely reduced. I learned to insulate myself from the variances by aggressively seeking hours at all times and making myself very valuable to the managing staff. Both doctors and nurses knew they could count on me if they needed something done. I received several performance based pay increases, and I had some of the most prosperity filled years up to that point.

When management in my department changed and made my way to operate impossible, I had to make a choice. Either adjust to the new order and get a virtual paycut, or leave the place where I had become comfortable and seek opportunities elsewhere. As you might have guessed, I took the second route. I left the hospital system that trained me, the place where I developed my skills, and went out into the freelance world where the rewards can be high but the risk also increases. At the time I felt I was competent, but I didn't know for sure that my skill level would show thru in a more competitive environment. As it turned out, I had no reason to be concerned. I was well trained and my work ethic made me a hit everywhere I went.

By the time I landed in my current assignment, I was more than ready to shine in any situation. My current position pays me almost twice as much as what I was making in my first hospital. I am grateful for those people with experience and a knack for training that prepared me for what is now my career.

Until next time. Good luck and have fun!

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64198.11
ETH 2759.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66