Get Out Of Your Shell

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-757056.jpeg

I was at my house for 2 days now, enjoying my vacations. It was 4 O' clock in the evening and I said to myself, "let's go outside for a walk". It was sunny throughout the day so I thought it would be hot outside. Also, my room was at moderate temperature. I put on my jogging gear and got ready for a walk. As soon as I stepped outside, I was struck by this cold wind. It was hot few days ago in the southern part of California. I immediately went inside, got my hoodies and started walking.

A cold wind was blowing and even though I was wearing my thick jacket I was feeling cold. At that time I realized that spending 2 days inside the house made me assume wrong about the weather outside. Of course, I could have checked the weather on my phone, but I was so convinced with the information in my head that I created my own assumptions. It was only after I came outside, I was able to get to know the reality of the situation and act accordingly.

pexels-photo-433462.jpeg

This was just a small example of how one can assume wrong information. I could happen to anyone in any situation. Let's look at another scenario. A student who is about to graduate is looking for a job. The newspaper is filled with negative news about the economy, showing how there are fewer jobs available and how the market is going down. If this student gets scared by reading the newspaper and stop trying thinking I will apply to jobs once the economy goes up, chances are he/she will lose the opportunity that is available to him at present. All he has to do is to get out of his shell, and look.

pexels-photo-567633.jpeg

A similar situation could happen to another person who is on job. He/she might think why am I stuck in the same place? Why am I not getting the promotion? Instead of complaining, he/she should work harder, ask questions to the boss about the performance, and talk about his/her ambitions so that if there is an opportunity, the boss should know who is willing and deserving candidate.

If we have to achieve greater success, we have to look for it. And the most important thing is to step outside your circle. Try to look at the things outside your knowledge before making any assumptions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46