You never know what life is going to throw at you!

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-359989.jpeg

Hello Steemers! Today I wanted to talk about life and how a curveball can come at you and change the path completely!

Life is one of those strange things that you can’t always predict. I wanted to share the story of what happened between my friend @jerrybafield and I.

12973164_10103946715567287_5150524238187311220_o.jpg

I met Jerry, about 9 years go through a mutual friend on xbox live about 9 years, shocker I know! I talked to this stranger that I have never met over the internet for 8 years, we always played Call of duty at the time because it was all the craze! Throughout the years I was there when Jerry was starting his business and would help out from time to time. It was still weird to think that someone that I never met would be willing to pay me. Later in life Jerry and I met in person in April 2016 when he was going to a conference in British Colombia. At this time I was still in college, focusing in Marketing, more specific Digital marketing. I was telling Jerry about all the stuff I was doing and he seemed ecstatic when telling him that I was taking part in the Google Online Marketing Challenge.

Jerry was preforming very successful on a teaching platform know as Udemy. Jerry was very intrigued that I was focusing in my studies in Marketing and learning Adwords and thought I could help him with his business goals at the time. He offered to pay me to take his Adwords class that was on udemy. Of course I didn’t even hesitate, the opportunity to learn and get paid? Who would turn that opportunity down?

I took Jerry’s course for about 10 hours a week until I graduated from College. This gave me outside exposure to seeing adwords in action in real life from a different business. As graduation came closer I was ecstatic that I had a full-time paying job right out of school! Durning my first full week of working for Jerry, I was coasting along learning the system he had in place. Then out of no where Jerry broke some bad news to me about a half work week into my new job. Jerry told me that he wouldn’t be able to pay me anymore.

If you are a follower of Jerry, you know that he was banned from Udemy. Watch here

To be honest I was very angry and distraught, I was so excited about working for a friend and was eager to learn new skills from him because he had hands on business experience! Jerry didn’t know this. I told him that it was okay and I understood the situation. But after a few days I realized that it was anger but it was sadness. I was really excited to start working after not knowing what I wanted to do in life. In the end Jerry and I are still great friends and I am grateful for what he has taught me so far and I know that there is a lot more that I can learn from him in the future!

WallofCoins.com


Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 7.55.03 AM.png

Even if life can through you a curve ball you can never really know what to expect! I was looking for a new job for about 2 weeks, I had 1 interview and unfortunately didn’t get a job. I was the reached out by a mutual friend of mine and Jerry’s. Robert Genito project director for a Crypto Currency escrow Wall of Coins. I interviewed with Robert and had a successful interview and became the ads manager for WallofCoins focusing on Adwords and Facebook Ads. A couple months down the road in September I had to make another tough decision I was turning 26 with a 15 hour a week job and was about to lose health insurance.

I looked for a another job for about 2 weeks and found one. Robert really wanted me to stay on as a team member and offered me a full time position that came with benefits and more responsibility which I was VERY happy about!

My new position became Campaign manager which consisted of the following tasks:
Search Engine Marketing (Adwords & Bing)

  • Adwords
  • Google Analytics
  • Social Media Marketing (Posting and Ads)
  • Email Marketing
  • Community Liaison
  • Affiliate Program
  • Data Entry
  • ROI/ROAS Weekly Reports
  • Partnership Integration Coordinator

It was crazy to think that I would have been asked to cover some many responsibilities but I was still truly happy about it! While this was happening Jerry was building his business from a different point of view, he wanted to offer his skills as a consultant firm. He asked if I would be opened to helping him out with the project. I was in-charge of campaign management and consulting with the clients that he acquired. This went on for a few weeks and was great because I was learning many more skills! Unfortunately there was not enough work to give me the hours I was looking for but in the end it was great for Jerry and I. Even though Jerry didn’t have enough client work for me it still worked out for the both of use, I would spend a couple hours a week setting up his twitter posts. Not the most exciting thing but it allowed me to get “familiar with his content again” I used to be watch every video Jerry made but when I started working with WallofCoins I only had time to listen to one maybe two of his videos a week. Which was really Unfortunate! On tope of monitoring his twitter account I read and commented to about 80% of all youtube comments that came in. It was time consuming tying to make each comment personal to everyone! I monitored jerry’s twitter and youtube channel for a couple months which was pretty interesting.

From here we ended working together in the beginning of May, we continued talking every week. I also made sure that I stayed up to date with the content that he was putting out to the community! Texting him comments on what I thought on some of it.

The real exciting news is that Jerry and I working together again, but only part time for me. I am editing some of his steemit posts, which is really exciting because it brings up a lot of old content of his that I haven’t seen ore is a refresher!

I am VERY excited to he part of the steemit community with Jerry, editing his content. While I work on creating my own and fining my ow niche in how to make an impact on the community like he has!

I want to say thank you to Jerry and Robert for the opportunities that they have presented to me so far in my young life, they have offered Incredible guidance! It is crazy to think that some people even though they are only 6 years older than you are SO wise!

What I am Sharing With The Steem Community

steemit-share.png

The point I am wanting to share with all you amazing Steemians out there, you never know what kind of ball the world is going to throw at you!

You must take the opportunities that have been presented to you and embarrass them! Take them on and grow from there!

Thank you everyone for taking the time to read this I wish you all the best of luck and hope life throws you the least amount of curveballs!!

Have a lovely day!

Cheers,

Albert

Sort:  

Very Nice Indeed! I made here to steemit through watching one of Jerry's videos this weekend. I signed up last night. I will check out wall of coins when I get home from work tonight, because I am just learning about digital currencies - but it's fun & exciting! All the Best! ~JoeDirt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67