You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My philosophy on being calm

in #life7 years ago

@thewisesloth Great post!
I've come to the same realization. I like many, lack a lot of mentors in life. So, I tend to find role models in fictitious characters. Many of these characters are older. Most people know a role model when they see one. Whether that person is real or made up doesn't make a difference in how they represented themselves at the time. The only negative aspect of having fictitious characters to learn from is you do need to know they are not real, but the lessons they can teach you can be real. A lot of times, in order to grow. You need to really be able to think and analyze, identify where you went wrong, change and then grow. But in today's age, everyone is so connected, phones, tv's, computers, etc. that it's really hard to breathe without interruption, let alone take a second out to think things through.

When I was at the lowest point in my life, when all my friends abandoned me because I was a sob story, girlfriend left me, was facing jail time, credit cards maxed, no constant place to live, and no one to talk to, that's when I learned the most. I learned from silence. When no one is left to bother you, you think things through, you don't rush, you don't panic, and life just makes sense. I also attracted the most women during that time when I started to get myself together. With no help, no one to count on, and life not possibly getting worse (unless you die, which to me was not that much worse at the time), you just live and let live. I slowly got things together over the course of 5 years.

The Universe had other plans for me but now it's back to the connected craziness! I'm back to checking my phone 50 times a day looking at coinbase, watching videos, reading, engaging and trying improve. Sometimes I wish I could go back to a simple life, but man's natural instincts is to survive and thrive!

Here's to a better life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63051.22
ETH 2471.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69