Bajai Body Camp 12.22: Day 350

in #life-plan6 years ago

Bajai Body Camp 12.22: Day 350
Compestelo Suites Apartmento
Tuesday May 22, 2018
Madrid, Spain
19.16% moving day

Time to pack up and move to the hood. I should take some time to exercise before I go. Noon checkout. Morning round and morning tea in my new mug.

It was a smooth exit from the Apartmento. Two hours to kill. I may have been able to get an extension, but for some reason I didn't even ask. Now, I can sit in the Plenilunio mall for a couple of hours and then make my way down to Lavapies (which is probably pronounced "la-ba-pi-es") - check in starts at 15:00.

I am still making strategic over-cautious errors when it comes to planning moves. I could've stayed at Compestelo for the entire 12 days. And I could've planned earlier for my one night near the pickup point. Still, it looks like it will work out. The walk is only 30 minutes, well within my range, even with bags. I will be able to check in Saturday, recon the area, make the dinner and make it to the rendezvous point on time.

No problem! So what am I griping about?

I still get this anxiety about booking. I still try to time it perfectly only to realize after the fact, that the right time is usually the first time I check for a place to stay.

With this in mind, I should be plotting out my post-program strategy now.

5-22-18 starbucks.png
Killing time at Starbucks, Plenilunio Mall. No loitering!

V-town is from Sun. 27 May to Friday 1 June. Do I bug-out of Madrid on Saturday? Or get a hostel for a couple and leave Sunday? How likely am I to be offered a back-to-back at V town?

Cheaper trains on Tuesday. So this is what holds me up. I could spend more staying in Madrid for four days, just to save money on the train fare.

Sorry... I'm thinking out loud, so to speak. I'm tempted to edit, but I may need to refer to these notes in the future.

I've killed the first hour here at Mil-bucks. I could not find the wifi clave on the receipt. They want me to ask the barista, but I don't have the steam to get up and walk over.

Ha. Lazy bum!

I was thinking of a burger for lunch, but after the way I've been eating this week, I don't feel like eating one. What will this week's diet be like? More of the same if this is a proper apartment with a fridge. I hope my plate doesn't break. I haven't had cooked food all week.

Hmmm. Let me think. Nope... raw everything, even eggs... and I believe the meat was cured. I feel pretty good. Oh... I must pick up some supplies from Aldi before I head out.

5-22-18 amparo day 1.png
Amparo... it's not the name of this building. It's the name of the street. Nice apt at first sight.

Time passed quickly in the mall. Writing and research helped. Exploring southern Spain will be an adventure. I should commit to a few weeks on the beach, or just exploring beach towns by bus. Open myself to hostels. Spend at least a week in Spanish Africa as well as Morocco... return via Portugal... Lisbon. Visit Galicia. Hmmm. Maybe a plan is forming.

The travel time was perfect just about an hour. It was raining... drizzling... when got off of the metro. I made my way to the building. What did I expect?

5-22-18 welcome to lavapies.png
Signs of changing times. Tourists bring money, but at what costs?
The hood is changing. I can feel it.

A lady let me in and I called the number provided. Dude said he'd be here at 16:00.

I can't even be pissed. I missed the email this morning with the instructions. I could have called them when I checked out. This is on me. At least I'm not out in the drizzle waiting with my bags. I'm thinking, "no more apartments in Spain." But I should be thinking, "get with the program. Contact your host as soon as you book. Make arrangements. The process will run smoothly."

That's what I'm thinking now. For next time. That's why I got this number.

Duh!

There will be no repercussions from my end. This is my faux pas. Now. As ling as I get in, I'll be in good shape. But for now. Chillax!

I'm messing up all over the place today. But it's working out... as it should... or as it will. I'm still learning.

The check-in ordeal is over. I'm inside, got the keys, the office is set up... I'm connected and I'm sipping a nice cup of tea. There's a kettle and a lot more than the last place. Real people live around me. I imagine this is a "typical" apartment in Spain. It's nice for one, or two as long as both people got out. It's a one bedroom, but the "living room" can sleep two... but it would be crowned. Just one bathroom, tight... small shower. Glad I had that last bath before I left.

Tonight I will set my agenda, start planning better. I think I can get some decent exercise done in here.

5-22-18 amparo alley.png
This view is nothing to envy!

It was a full day... walking around the neighborhood with Maca, I came across a place I can actually get some pulling done. We had a couple if beers and a nice meal at a place that's right around the corner.

Maca and I are neighbors this week.

Ciao. Until tomorrow.

Sort:  

We just saw your reply now and came to check out your diary! We love the way you write! I (Linda) used to write like this all the time. I feel it is so easy to read and it is exactly what's happening in my head. Like my thoughts on the paper!! Amazing!

Magic happens. Thanks for the visit and comment. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50